Language:

Home » Speaker » Frank Jebe

Frank Jebe

© Christian Clarke

Prof Dr Frank Jebe (*1973) is an artist and education scientist as well as a Professor of Art and Intercultural Communication at Hochschule Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences. Prior to that, he dealt with the publications and studies of the Committee of Experts as an academic consultant at the Office of the Council for Cultural Education. From 2008 to 2013, as a freelance project manager of the Düsseldorf Office of Cultural Affairs, he was responsible for child day-care facilities, primary and secondary schools as well as youth camp facilities. The cooperation projects featured programmes testing artistic concepts related to social spaces. From 1996 to 2003, Jebe studied at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. From 2009 to 2012, he studied education science at the University of Duisburg-Essen.

 

What is your professional focus?

With art and art communication, different foci play a role when I teach at Hochschule Niederrhein. Here, Cultural Education in early childhood, artistic rehearsal, the forms of action in communicating culture, project management in the cultural sector and the cultural dimension of digitality are predominant elements. In the lectures on artistic rehearsal, my biographical relations to fine art play a particularly crucial role. Regarding my research interest, my focus is on the interfaces between culture and school which are relevant to education. In addition to the question of how input from artists in the sense of the liberal arts is entering schools, to me, issues regarding education policy expectations of art or regarding the education potentials for communicating culture, all of which has to be researched in the course of digitisation, appear to be of importance.

 

What potentials do you see in the certificate course “Artistic Interventions in Cultural Education” for your specialist field?

The professionalisation of this field certainly bears a great potential. To me, however, the central keyword is “visibility”. The certificate course holds the potential to bring an activity field to the fore for artists which is hardly focused on in the academies. If, beyond this, the important experiences which are entering schools with the art programmes can actually be visualised, a lot will have been gained.

 

Which changes are needed at cultural policy or education policy level to strengthen the potentials of cooperation with artists for Cultural Education in Germany?

It remains to be seen whether the certificate can succeed in structurally boosting the role of artists on the “free” education market. The imbalance in power between the solo freelancers and school as an institution seems rather too great to make this probable. To me, the step which has to be taken in education policy is that local authorities accept more responsibility in selecting and seconding extra-school providers of education services. The City of Düsseldorf has given a good example of how this can work with its “Düsseldorfer Modell”.

 

Frank Jebe at “Artistic Interventions in Cultural Education”

Frank Jebe is taking part in the course framework as a lecturer in Module 2: “Theoretical concepts and discourses”.

If you have any queries or are interested in cooperating, you are welcome to contact zertifikatskurs [at] uni-hildesheim [dot] de.

Sprache:

Home » Referent:innen » Frank Jebe

Frank Jebe

© Christian Clarke

Prof. Dr. Frank Jebe (*1973) ist Künstler und Erziehungswissenschaftler sowie Professor für Kunst- und Kulturvermittlung an der Hochschule Niederrhein. Zuvor war er als wissenschaftlicher Referent in der Geschäftsstelle des Rats für Kulturelle Bildung mit den Publikationen und Studien des Expertengremiums befasst. Von 2008 bis 2013 verantwortete er als freiberuflicher Projektmanager des Kulturamts Düsseldorf kulturelle Bildungsangebote für Kindertagesstätten, Grund- und Hauptschulen sowie Jugendfreizeiteinrichtungen. Die Kooperationsprojekte zeichneten sich durch sozialraumbezogene Angebote der künstlerischen Erprobung aus. Von 1996 bis 2003 studierte Jebe an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Von 2009 bis 2012 studierte er Erziehungswissenschaften an der Universität Duisburg-Essen.

 

 

 

 

 

Was ist Ihr beruflicher Schwerpunkt?

Mit dem Bezugspunkt der Kunst- und Kulturvermittlung kommen in meiner Lehre an der Hochschule Niederrhein unterschiedliche Schwerpunkte zum Tragen. Vorrangig sind hier die frühkindliche Kulturelle Bildung, die künstlerische Erprobung, die Handlungsformen der Kulturvermittlung, das Projektmanagement im Kulturbereich sowie die kulturelle Dimension von Digitalität zu nennen. In den Lehrveranstaltungen zur künstlerischen Erprobung spielen insbesondere meine biografischen Bezüge zur Bildenden Kunst eine wesentliche Rolle. Was mein Forschungsinteresse angeht, so liegt mein Augenmerk auf den bildungsrelevanten Schnittstellen von Kultur und Schule. Neben der Frage, wie Angebote von Künstler:innen im Sinne der Freien Künste Einzug in die Schule halten, sind für mich auch Fragen nach den bildungspolitischen Erwartungshaltungen an die Künste oder nach den Bildungspotenzialen für die Kulturvermittlung, die es im Zuge der Digitalisierung zu erforschen gilt, von Bedeutung.

 

Welche Potenziale sehen Sie in dem Zertifikatskurs „Künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung“ für Ihr Fachgebiet?

Sicherlich liegt in der Professionalisierung des Felds ein großes Potenzial. Für mich lautet jedoch das zentrale Stichwort „Sichtbarkeit“. Der Zertifikatskurs besitzt das Potenzial, ein Arbeitsfeld für Künstler:innen in den Vordergrund zu rücken, das an den Akademien kaum thematisiert wird. Wenn es darüber hinaus gelingt, die bedeutsamen Erfahrungen, die mit künstlerischen Angeboten in der Schule einhergehen, sichtbar zu machen, ist viel gewonnen.

 

Welche Veränderungen sind auf kultur- oder bildungspolitischer Ebene notwendig, um die Potenziale einer Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler:innen für die Kulturelle Bildung in Deutschland zu stärken?

Ob es der Zertifikatskurs vermag, die Rolle der Künstler:innen auf dem „freien“ Bildungsmarkt strukturell zu stärken, ist fraglich. Dafür scheint das Machtgefälle zwischen den lobbylosen Solo-Selbstständigen und der Institution Schule doch zu groß zu sein. Für mich besteht die bildungspolitische Notwendigkeit darin, die Kommunen bei der Auswahl und Vermittlung von außerschulischen Bildungsanbietern stärker in die Verantwortung zu nehmen. Wie das beispielhaft gelingen kann, zeigt die Stadt Düsseldorf mit dem „Düsseldorfer Modell“.

 

Frank Jebe bei „Künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung“

Frank Jebe beteiligt sich im Rahmen des Kurses als Referent in Modul 2: „Theoretische Konzepte und Diskurse“. Bei Fragen oder Interesse einer Zusammenarbeit wenden Sie sich gern an zertifikatskurs [at] uni-hildesheim [dot] de