Language:

Home » Speaker » Mona Jas

Mona Jas

© Victoria Tomaschko

Mona Marijke Jas has been an Honorary Professor at Weißensee Academy of Art Berlin since 2015. Among her activities, she was Faculty Member of documenta 14 in Kassel and Athens in 2017 and headed communication at the 10th Berlin Biennale 2018. Furthermore, she is currently lecturing at the University of Hildesheim in the field of Cultural Education and Art Communication. Her research focus is on the artistic communication of contemporary fine arts and Biennales.

What is your professional focus?

As an artist and scholar, I am always eager to create networks via which the artists and various institutions such as schools, universities, art institutions and social facilities can meet and cooperate at eye-level. The special aspect here is mutual dialogue. My artistic impulses and scholarly analyses feed into qualification programmes for artists, into teaching and into art institutions. Against this background, we create a wealth of common experience with children, youths and adults some of whom have the opportunity for the first time to enter into intensive communication with contemporary art and the institutions belonging to it. Together, we develop interactive communication formats – and communication can develop which reaches across generations and social spaces.

 

What potentials do you see in the certificate course “Artistic Interventions in Cultural Education” for your specialist field?

Here, creators of art and culture can be supported in generating movement and change. This is very import for a society, but is also equally important for the further development of the field of art. In this context, the certificate course offers the space to reflect critically on one’s own work, irritate others and also become irritated oneself. In order to be able to change things, we have to be familiar with systems. This is the only way to find out where the weaknesses as well as the strengths are and at which points changes become possible. Changes are above all possible when artists’ awareness of their own interpretational sovereignty is strengthened. These are central aspects of the course, and they also include seeking artistic quality in communication, together with a self-critical contextualisation of artistic work in education in the context of diversity, internationality and local references.

 

Which changes are needed at cultural policy or education policy level to strengthen the potentials of cooperation with artists for Cultural Education in Germany?

At cultural and education policy level, improving the economic situation of artists, for example through universal basic income. This can ensure the development of a space in which it becomes possible beyond political objectives and market forces to pursue one’s own intrinsic motivation to work in the education and social field. What then also counts is to record the contradictions of a complex societal reality of artists at political level and in the education sector: market versus political engagement – or are both possible? And how does this in turn fit in with the artistic claim to singularity and quality? Or with the economic situation referred to above? At least one can note that linear and rigid concepts of artistic work in the education sector are no help. Today, we can observe not only complexities but also the possibilities for mutually contradictory processes to proceed at the same time. This has to be given much more consideration in the cultural and education policy field.

 

Mona Jas at “Artistic Interventions in Cultural Education”

Mona Jas is taking part in the course framework as a lecturer in Module 1: “Potentials of art for cultural education processes”. Furthermore, as the artistic project director, she was involved in designing and launching the pilot course.

For details, see: https://kuenstlerische-interventionen.de/team/.

If you have any queries or are interested in cooperating, you are welcome to contact zertifikatskurs [at] uni-hildesheim [dot] de

Sprache:

Home » Referent:innen » Mona Jas

Mona Jas

© Victoria Tomaschko

Mona Marijke Jas ist seit 2015 Honorarprofessorin an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin. Sie war u. a. Mitglied der Faculty der documenta 14 in Kassel und Athen im Jahr 2017 und leitete die (Ver-)Mittlung der 10. Berlin Biennale 2018. Außerdem lehrt sie aktuell an der Universität Hildesheim im Bereich Kulturelle Bildung und Kunstvermittlung. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt ist künstlerische Kunstvermittlung von zeitgenössischer bildender Kunst und Biennalen.

 

Wo liegt Ihr beruflicher Schwerpunkt?

Als Künstlerin und Wissenschaftlerin geht es mir stets darum, Netzwerke zu schaffen, über die Künstler:innen und verschiedene Institutionen wie Schulen, Hochschulen, Kunstinstitutionen und soziale Einrichtungen auf Augenhöhe zusammenfinden und zusammenarbeiten. Das Besondere hierbei ist der beiderseitige Dialog: Meine künstlerischen Impulse und wissenschaftlichen Analysen fließen in Qualifizierungsprogramme für Künstler:innen, in die Lehre, in Kunstinstitutionen. Vor diesem Hintergrund schaffen wir einen gemeinsamen Erfahrungsschatz mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen, die zum Teil erstmals mit zeitgenössischer Kunst und den dazugehörigen Institutionen in einen intensiven Austausch treten können. Gemeinsam entwickeln wir innovative Vermittlungsformate – und ein generations- und sozialraumübergreifender Austausch kann entstehen.

 

Welche Potenziale sehen Sie in dem Zertifikatskurs „Künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung“ für Ihr Fachgebiet?

Hier können Kunst- und Kulturschaffende dabei unterstützt werden, Bewegung zu erzeugen und Änderungen zu bewirken. Das ist sehr wichtig für eine Gesellschaft, aber auch genauso wichtig für die Weiterentwicklung des Kunstfelds. Der Zertifikatskurs bietet dabei den Raum, die eigene Arbeit kritisch zu reflektieren, andere zu irritieren und selbst auch irritiert zu werden. Um Dinge verändern zu können, müssen wir uns in den Systemen auskennen. Nur so lässt sich herausfinden, wo Schwachstellen, aber auch Stärken sind und an welchen Stellen Veränderungen möglich werden. Veränderungen sind vor allem möglich, wenn das Bewusstsein von Künstler:innen für die eigene Deutungshoheit und die eigene Handlungsfähigkeit gestärkt wird. Das sind zentrale Aspekte des Kurses. Zu diesen zählt auch der Anspruch an die künstlerische Qualität in der Vermittlung, verbunden mit einer selbstkritischen Kontextualisierung der künstlerischen Arbeit in der Bildung im Zusammenhang mit Diversität, Internationalität und lokalen Bezügen.

 

Welche Veränderungen sind auf kultur- oder bildungspolitischer Ebene notwendig, um die Potenziale einer Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler:innen für die Kulturelle Bildung in Deutschland zu stärken?

Auf kultur- und bildungspolitischer Ebene ist zunächst die Verbesserung der ökonomischen Lage von Künstler:innen, zum Beispiel durch das bedingungslose Grundeinkommen, erforderlich. So kann ein Raum geschaffen werden, in dem es jenseits von politischen Interessen und Marktzwängen möglich wird, der eigenen intrinsischen Motivation zur Arbeit im Bildungs- und Sozialbereich zu folgen. Dann gilt es auch, die Widersprüche einer komplexen gesellschaftlichen Realität von Künstler:innen auf politischer Ebene und im Bildungsbereich nachzuzeichnen: Markt versus politisches Engagement – oder geht beides? Und wie geht das wiederum zusammen mit dem künstlerischen Anspruch nach Singularität und Qualität? Oder auch mit der oben angesprochenen ökonomischen Situation? Zumindest bleibt festzustellen: Lineare und starre Vorstellungen von der künstlerischen Arbeit im Bildungsbereich helfen nicht weiter. Heute finden wir nicht nur Komplexitäten, sondern auch die Möglichkeiten, dass einander widersprechende Prozesse gleichzeitig stattfinden können. Dies gilt es im kultur- und bildungspolitischen Bereich viel stärker mitzudenken.

 

Mona Jas bei „Künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung“

Mona Jas beteiligt sich im Rahmen des Zertifikatskurses als Referentin im Modul 3: „Strategien und Praxisformate der Kunst- und Kulturvermittlung“. Des Weiteren hat sie als künstlerische Projektleiterin den Pilotkurs mitkonzipiert und auf den Weg gebracht.

Siehe hierzu: https://kuenstlerische-interventionen.de/team/.

Bei Fragen oder Interesse an einer Zusammenarbeit wenden Sie sich gern an zertifikatskurs [at] uni-hildesheim [dot] de