Language:

Home » Fellows » Christina Schelhas

Christina Schelhas

© Norman Grotegut

Christina Schelhas (*1985) studied scenic art at the University of Hildesheim from 2007 on, and in 2009, she switched to studying stage direction at the Academy of Performing Arts Baden-Württemberg. As a DAAD scholarship holder, she completed the Master degree course in Text and Performance at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts in London in 2019. Since 2015, she has been working as a freelance director and performer. Schelhas directs performances at “Theater Bonn”, “Stadttheater Ingolstadt”, “Theater Marabu” and “Schaubude Berlin”, among others, and develops theatre productions with her collective neverending. Her productions were chosen for the “Spielarten Festival” in North Rhine-Westphalia and for the “Junges Theater” series of the “NRW KULTURsekretariat”.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

In my stage productions, I again and again look for new aesthetic forms to deal with contemporary feministic and socio-political topics. Here, I constantly encounter myths, tales of heroes and fairy-tales. I am fascinated by their symbolic and visually stunning strength, and I believe that the “old” stories are ideally suited to serve as a template to critically address contemporary issues. Here, it is important for me to create sensual spaces for the audience to experience things and humorously question clichés and obsolete narrations.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

I believe that the political force of drama lies not only in its “end product”, the performance, but also in the way it has been produced. To me, drama is like a sort of experimenting laboratory for society. Actively and self-determinedly participating in processes can be unbelievably forceful and strengthening. With my cultural education activities, I seek to create free spaces enabling encountering and communicating – with oneself and within a community.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

To me, artistic intervention means jolting, pausing or shifting one’s own perspective. This means thinking up or rethinking cultural formats in order to enable critical debating of social structures. Asking oneself again and again: how can taking part in culture be made accessible to all at an inter-sectional level? Which topics and whom do I create space for? What and who remains invisible in this context?

Blood is thicker than water, 2015

© Thilo Beu

The stage production “Blut ist dicker als Wasser” (blood is thicker than water) portrays four very different pairs of siblings aged from eleven to 70 years. The project had its debut at “Theater Bonn” in 2015. Based on the biographies of the non-professional performers, mutual relationships are negotiated in a humorous and touching manner. Fourteen-year-old Karlotta gives an account of her stroke and the accompanying consequences for her and her brothers, while sisters Johanna and Katharina are in a constant identity conflict, sisters Nijole and Leonarda talk about cohesion in times of crisis, and Jochen describes the feeling of loneliness in an extended family.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

I staged “Blut ist dicker als Wasser” whe I started working as a freelancer, and the artistic and human experiences were important for me in many respects. I have above all learnt that networking supporting and professional disciplines when cooperating with lay people is crucial. There were a team in the field of dramaturgy, equipment and video who were able to put the personal family histories of the participants onstage into an artistic and protected space. The production was also adopted in the repertoire of “Theater Bonn”, so that the participants could be sustainably supported.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Christina Schelhas

Christina Schelhas

© Norman Grotegut

Christina Schelhas (*1985) studierte ab 2007 Szenische Künste an der Universität Hildesheim, 2009 wechselte sie für ein Studium der Regie zur Akademie für Darstellende Kunst Baden-Württemberg. Als DAAD-Stipendiatin schloss sie 2019 den Masterstudiengang Text and Performance an der Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts in London ab. Seit 2015 ist sie als freischaffende Regisseurin und Performerin tätig. Schelhas inszeniert unter anderem am Theater Bonn, Stadttheater Ingolstadt, Theater Marabu, Schaubude Berlin und entwickelt Theaterproduktionen mit ihrem Kollektiv neverending. Ihre Inszenierungen wurden für das Spielarten Festival in Nordrhein Westfalen und für die Reihe Junges Theater des NRW KULTURsekretariats ausgewählt.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

In meinen Theaterinszenierungen bin ich immer wieder auf der Suche nach neuen ästhetischen Formen, um feministische und sozialpolitische Themen unserer Zeit zu verhandeln. Dabei stoße ich immer wieder auf Mythen, Held:innen-Geschichten und -Märchen. Mich fasziniert die symbolhafte und bildgewaltige Kraft und ich finde, dass sich die „alten“ Geschichten hervorragend als Schablone eigenen, um sich kritisch mit zeitgenössischen Fragen auseinanderzusetzen. Dabei ist es mir wichtig, sinnliche Erfahrungsräume für das Publikum zu erschaffen, Klischees und humorvoll veraltete Narrationen zu hinterfragen.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Ich glaube daran, dass die politische Kraft des Theaters nicht nur im „Endprodukt“, in der Aufführung liegt, sondern ebenso in seiner Machart. Für mich ist Theater wie eine Art Experimentierlabor der Gesellschaft. Aktiv und selbstbestimmt teilzuhaben an kreativen Prozessen, kann unglaublich kraftvoll und bestärkend sein. Mit meiner kulturellen Bildungsarbeit möchte ich Freiräume schaffen, die Begegnung und Auseinandersetzung ermöglichen – mit sich selber und innerhalb einer Gemeinschaft.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Für mich bedeutet künstlerische Intervention eine Erschütterung, ein Innehalten oder einen Wechsel der eigenen Perspektive. Das bedeutet, kulturelle Formate neu und umzudenken, um eine kritisch Auseinandersetzung mit sozialen Gesellschaftsstrukturen zu ermöglichen. Sich immer wieder neu zu fragen: Wie kann kulturelle Teilhabe für alle intersektional zugänglich gemacht werden? Welchen Themen und wem gebe ich Raum? Was und wer bleibt dabei unsichtbar?

Blut ist dicker als Wasser, 2015 

© Thilo Beu

Die Theaterinszenierung „Blut ist dicker als Wasser“ porträtiert vier sehr unterschiedliche Geschwisterpaare im Alter von elf bis 70 Jahren. 2015 hatte das Projekt am Theater Bonn Premiere. Basierend auf den Biografien der nicht-professionellen Performer:innen werden in spielerischen Szenen humorvoll und berührend die Beziehungen untereinander verhandelt. Die 14-jährige Karlotta berichtet über ihren Schlaganfall und die einhergehenden Folgen für sie und ihre Brüder, die Zwillinge Johanna und Katharina befinden sich im ständigen Identitätskonflikt, die Schwestern Nijole und Leonarda erzählen über den Zusammenhalt in Krisenzeiten und Jochen über das Gefühl der Einsamkeit in einer Großfamilie.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

„Blut ist dicker als Wasser“ habe ich am Anfang meiner Selbstständigkeit inszeniert, und die künstlerischen wie menschlichen Erfahrungen waren in vielerlei Hinsicht wichtig für mich. Vor allem habe ich gelernt, dass eine Vernetzung aus unterstützenden und professionellen Disziplinen in der Zusammenarbeit mit Laien ausschlaggebend ist. Es gab ein Team im Bereich Dramaturgie, Ausstattung und Video, welches die persönlichen Familiengeschichten der Teilnehmenden auf der Bühne in einen künstlerischen und geschützten Rahmen setzen konnte. Auch wurde die Produktion in den Spielplan des Theater Bonns aufgenommen, sodass die Teilnehmenden nachhaltig betreut werden konnten.