Language:

Home » Fellows » Carolina Nees

Carolina Nees

© Gloria Zganier

Carolina Nees is a music communicator with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra and a freelance oboist. She studied the oboe at Mozarteum University Salzburg and has worked throughout Germany as an orchestra musician. Nees is the founder of the free Ensemble Duo Papagena, whose focus is on music theatre presentations for children. At the University of the Arts Bremen, Carolina Nees completed the course “Experiencing and communicating music”. She then worked at the “Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe” as a concert pedagogue for the “Badische Staatskapelle”, and in 2019, she started working as a music communicator for the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra. Nees writes concepts for children’s and youth concerts and is onstage as a spokeswoman and moderator. Since 2018/2019, Carolina Nees has been teaching theory and practice of communicating music at the “Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Mannheim”.

 

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

I often ask myself who the people are who are listening to me today, and what they ought to take home from experiencing the concert.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

My aim is to consider cultural education as an integral element in conceiving concert formats. Here, participating in culture ought to be possible for all age and target groups, indeed for all groups in society. I am particularly keen on the aspect of the “cultural institution as a learning location”.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

Music is so much more than beautiful sounds. Music can heal, music can link up, music can transcend boundaries. It is particularly important for me to also realise concerts outside the familiar environment, for example in social and educational facilities.

I thought I was a panther

© Siggi Müller

“I thought I was a panther” is a music theatre performance for children aged six years and older. It is based on the story of the same name by author Paola Mastrocola. The plot was adapted for the stage by Duo Papagena. Spoken texts, instrumental music and interactive sections alternate, with fluid transitions linking dialogue, sound, text and music. The music by Munich composer Helga Pogatschar combines contemporary playing techniques of the flute and the oboe with hip-hop beats and is based on German folksongs and nursery rhymes. The audience can play an active role in the story themselves, turning into beavers, panthers and parrots, and have to help, sing along and laugh along with the performers. This project has been supported by the Department for Culture of the State Capital Munich, the Culture Foundation of the “Stadtsparkasse München” and the Bavarian Music Fund.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

For my own work as an artist, I was able to learn from this project which strengths projects reaching across branches of art can develop. “I thought I was a panther” contains concert, drama, composition and choreography elements. The audience are interactively involved and can thus deal with what is happening onstage in different ways, directly reflecting the emotions triggered by the music to the performers.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Carolina Nees

Carolina Nees

© Gloria Zganier

Carolina Nees ist Musikvermittlerin beim Freiburger Barockorchester und freie Oboistin. Sie studierte Oboe an der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg und arbeitete deutschlandweit als Orchestermusikerin. Nees ist Gründerin des freien Ensembles Duo Papagena, dessen Schwerpunkt Musiktheater-Inszenierungen für Kinder ist. An der Hochschule der Künste Bremen schloss Carolina Nees den Studiengang „Musik erleben. Musik vermitteln“ ab. Danach arbeitete sie am Badischen Staatstheater Karlsruhe als Konzertpädagogin der Badischen Staatskapelle, 2019 begann sie als Musikvermittlerin beim Freiburger Barockorchester. Nees schreibt Konzepte für Kinder- und Jugendkonzerte und steht als Sprecherin und Moderatorin auf der Bühne. Seit 2018/2019 unterrichtet Carolina Nees Musikvermittlung in Theorie und Praxis an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Mannheim.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Oft stelle ich mir die Frage, wer die Menschen sind, die mir heute zuhören und was sie vom Konzerterlebnis mit nach Hause nehmen sollen.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Mein Ziel ist es, Kulturelle Bildung bei der Konzipierung von Konzert-Formaten selbstverständlich mitzudenken. Kulturelle Teilhabe soll dabei allen Alters-, Ziel- und Gesellschaftsgruppen ermöglicht werden. Dabei gefällt mir besonders der Aspekt „Kulturinstitution als Lernort“.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Musik ist so viel mehr als schöne Töne. Musik kann heilen, Musik kann verbinden, Musik kann Grenzen überwinden. Mir ist es besonders wichtig, Konzerte auch außerhalb des gewohnten Umfelds, zum Beispiel in sozialen und Bildungseinrichtungen zu realisieren.

Ich dachte, ich wär ein Panther

© Siggi Müller

„Ich dachte, ich wär ein Panther“ ist ein Musiktheaterstück für Kinder ab sechs Jahren. Es basiert auf der gleichnamigen Erzählung der Autorin Paola Mastrocola. Die Handlung wurde von Duo Papagena für die Bühne adaptiert. Sprechtexte, Instrumentalmusik und interaktive Abschnitte wechseln sich ab, dabei sind die Übergänge zwischen Dialog, Klang, Text und Musik fließend. Die Musik der Münchner Komponistin Helga Pogatschar vereint zeitgenössische Spieltechniken von Flöte und Oboe mit Hip-Hop-Beats, und basiert auf deutschen Volks- und Kinderliedern. Das Publikum darf in der Geschichte selbst aktiv werden, verwandelt sich in Biber, Panther und Papageien und muss mithelfen, mitsingen und mitlachen. Dieses Projekt wurde vom Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München, der Kulturstiftung der Stadtsparkasse München und dem Bayerischen Musikfonds gefördert.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen ?

Für meine eigene künstlerische Arbeit konnte ich aus diesem Projekt lernen, welche Stärke spartenübergreifende Projekte haben können. „Ich dachte, ich wär ein Panter“ enthält Elemente aus Konzert, Theater, Komposition und Choreografie. Das Publikum wird interaktiv mit einbezogen, kann sich so auf unterschiedliche Weise mit dem Geschehen auf der Bühne auseinandersetzen und spiegelt die Emotionen, die die Musik auslöst, den Aufführenden direkt wider.