Language:

Home » Fellows » Christophe Ndabananiye

Christophe Ndabananiye

© Ela Bialkowska/OKNOstudio

Christophe Ndabananiye was born in 1977 as the son of Rwandan parents in Lubumbashi in the Democratic Republic of Congo. At the age of nine years, he moved to Rwanda with his family. Already at the age of twelve years, he was working as a sign painter, and from 1991 on, he attended the secondary school of art École d´Art de Nyundo in Rwanda. At the age of eighteen, he came to Germany. Having acquired an entrance qualification for a University of Applied Science (Fachhochschule), he studied free art at the “Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar” (HBKsaar) in Saarbrücken until 2008. He participated in a wide range of exhibitions at home and abroad, receiving, among others, the prestigious Villa Romana Prize in 2018 and, associated with it, a scholarship in Florence, as well as artist residencies in Baden-Baden and Cosenza. In addition, Ndabananiye worked at Free University Berlin as an academic assistant in the Department of African Art.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

Recollection, or Ukumbusho in Swahili, my first mother tongue, is of key importance in my work. Here, I take recourse to traces, both as a conceptual basis of my work and as material, which signal the condition of homelessness and destruction through the leaving behind of people and objects. I process biographical experiences of radical fear and loss, linked to uncertainty regarding the future. I prefer to use industrial gloss paint because of its destructive potential as a toxic paint and at the same time because of its functionality.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

I am above all interested in the discourse over works of art. In my cultural education work so far, for example with children in Masaka in Rwanda’s capital province of Kigali or with students in Berlin, I experienced mutual inspiration. It promotes the common artistic process and teaches us the interesting experience of communication between creators of art and recipients, which we experience in day-to-day educational work.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

From theory to practice in the course, how cultural education takes up the interface between artistic activities, pedagogical work and culture management and also strengthens my own position as an artist is of great significance to me. A further important aspect for me is to strengthen collaboration with other branches of art, keeping in mind the challenge of digitisation in educational work.

 

Shoes – personal versus impersonal, 2011

© Christophe Ndabananiye

In 2011, I presented some of my work in the Traces Exhibition at the Centre de Formation Refuge Icyugamo in Masaka. The installative piece “Shoes – personal versus impersonal”, which always causes irritation, could be viewed, as well as various series in glossy and acrylic paint, partly also involving collage techniques, on the topics of traces and routes.

In parallel to the exhibition, together with art historian Katja Vobiller, I organised a workshop for children which was aimed at teaching them the basics of design. Here too, the topic of “traces” was a common thread in the workshops, in which the children discovered their artistic talent and experimented with lead and colour pencils, paintbrushes and paintboxes, crayons and scissors. After the workshop, the children had the opportunity to present their works of art.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

For me, cultural education in the context of communicating with the children was an important experience, for here, as had been the case in my career as an artist up to then, the topic of identity played a major role.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Christophe Ndabananiye

Christophe Ndabananiye

© Ela Bialkowska/OKNOstudio

Christophe Ndabananiye wurde 1977 als Sohn ruandischer Eltern in Lubumbashi in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo geboren. Mit neun Jahren zog er mit seiner Familie nach Ruanda. Bereits im Alter von zwölf Jahren war er als Schildermaler tätig und besuchte ab 1991 für drei Jahre die Kunstoberschule École d´Art de Nyundo in Ruanda. Mit achtzehn Jahren kam er nach Deutschland. Nach der Fachhochschulreife studierte er bis zum Jahr 2008 Freie Kunst an der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Saar (HBKsaar) in Saarbrücken. Er war an diversen Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland beteiligt, erhielt u. a. den renommierten Villa Romana-Preis im Jahr 2018 und ein damit verbundenes Stipendium in Florenz, außerdem Künstlerresidenzen in Baden-Baden und Cosenza. Darüber hinaus war Ndabananiye an der Freien Universität Berlin als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Fachbereich Kunst Afrikas tätig.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf? 

Von zentraler Bedeutung in meinen Arbeiten ist die Erinnerung, genannt Ukumbusho auf Suaheli, meiner ersten Muttersprache. Ich rekurriere dabei auf Spuren, sowohl als konzeptuelle Grundlage meiner Werke als auch als Material, die den Zustand von Heimatlosigkeit und Zerstörung durch das Zurücklassen von Menschen und Objekten signalisieren. Dabei verarbeite ich biografische Erfahrungen von radikaler Angst und Verlust, verbunden mit der Ungewissheit der Zukunft. Bevorzugt verwende ich industrielle Lackfarbe aufgrund ihres zerstörerischen Potenzials als giftige Farbe und zugleich wegen ihrer Funktionalität.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Mich interessiert in erster Linie der Diskurs über künstlerische Arbeiten. In meiner bisherigen kulturellen Bildungsarbeit, beispielsweise mit Kindern in Masaka in der ruandischen Hauptstadtprovinz Kigali oder mit Studierenden in Berlin, erlebte ich gegenseitige Inspiration. Sie fördert den gemeinsamen künstlerischen Prozess und lehrt uns die interessante Erfahrung des Austauschs zwischen Kunstschaffenden und Rezipient:innen, die wir in der Bildungsarbeit im Alltag erleben.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Von der Theorie bis hin zur Praxis im Kurs ist für mich sehr wichtig, wie die Kulturelle Bildung an der Schnittstelle von künstlerischer Arbeit, pädagogischer Arbeit und Kulturmanagement anknüpft und auch meine eigene künstlerische Position stärkt. Ein wichtiges Anliegen ist mir außerdem, die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen künstlerischen Sparten zu verstärken und dabei die Herausforderung der Digitalisierung in der Bildungsarbeit nicht zu vergessen.

 

Schuhe – persönlich versus unpersönlich, 2011

© Christophe Ndabananiye

Im Jahr 2011 habe ich einige meiner Arbeiten in der Ausstellung „Traces“ im Centre de Formation Refuge Icyugamo in Masaka gezeigt. Zu sehen waren die installative Arbeit „Schuhe – persönlich versus unpersönlich“, die stets für Irritation sorgt, außerdem verschiedene Serien aus Lack- und Acrylfarbe, zum Teil mit Collagentechnik, zu den Themen Spuren und Strecken.

Parallel zur Ausstellung habe ich gemeinsam mit der Kunsthistorikerin Katja Vobiller einen Workshop für Kinder gestaltet. Dieser hatte zum Ziel, den Kindern Grundlagen der Gestaltung beizubringen. Auch hier zog sich das Thema „Spuren“ wie ein roter Faden durch die Workshops. Bei diesen entdeckten die Kinder ihre künstlerische Begabung und experimentierten mit Blei- und Buntstiften, Pinsel und Farbkasten, Wachskreide und Schere. Im Anschluss an den Workshop hatten die Kinder die Möglichkeit, ihre Werke auszustellen.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Für mich war die Kulturelle Bildung beim Austausch mit den Kindern eine wichtige Erfahrung, denn das Thema Identität spielte hier – wie auch schon in meiner bisherigen künstlerischen Laufbahn – eine große Rolle.