Language:

Home » Fellows » Gudrun Ingratubun

Gudrun Ingratubun

© Eunae Anna Jo

Gudrun Ingratubun is a plant-printing and book artist as well as a translator of Indonesian literature. She studied agriculture and English language and lived in Tanzania, the United Kingdom and Indonesia for seven years. In Jakarta and Berlin, she initiated book projects with children. In her own art atelier, she prints with leaves and flowers, and experiments with plant matter dye baths, inks and printing pastes on paper and cloth. In this way, she documents collective processes from a plant perspective and confronts them with human influences. She also designs and, together with others, sets up raised flowerbeds in public spaces. Her works of art have been exhibited in the “Prinzessinnengarten”, in the “Organ kritischer Kunst” (OKK) and in the “bauhaus reuse Pavillon” in Berlin.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

Dealing with nature as a place of longing, but also a place of inconsiderate destruction, when humans place their needs above those of all other living organisms.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

I seek to achieve that the participants see the world a little with different eyes, feel plants as living organisms, become more aware of the forms of trees and their leaves and thus treat nature more mindfully. I would also like to contribute to the participants perceiving themselves with more awareness, finding more peace and expressing this artistically.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

It enables surprising aesthetic experiences, rouses us, causes us to question things and, ideally, shows solutions. It gets people to talk.

Kalle – raised garden beds, 2021

© Claudia Jahnke

Having presented the project at the “Ideen-Forum Nachhaltige Stadt” in the “bauhaus reuse Pavillon”, we built banks of raised flowerbeds with old floorboards and pallet boards in a Berlin inner city square in a joint activity with neighbours and people who got together with us spontaneously. Untreated robinia posts are anchored in the flowerbeds which, while creating the illusion of a forest, also act as climbing supports or can be used to hang objects onto. Thus we have created seating in a semi-circle, contributed to greening the square, and enabled community gardening and more communication in the neighbourhood, also over the controversial topic of traffic calming. Furthermore, exhibitions and workshops can be held at this new location.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

By building the banks of raised flowerbeds for the community with familiar people and people who used to be strangers, a feeling of community has developed which people not participating can also notice. The benches are almost always occupied and are treated with care. The raised flowerbed banks offer an opportunity for dialogue, something that has been missing in particular during this pandemic.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Gudrun Ingratubun

Gudrun Ingratubun

© Eunae Anna Jo

Gudrun Ingratubun ist Pflanzendruck- und Buchkünstlerin sowie Literaturübersetzerin aus dem Indonesischen. Sie hat Landwirtschaft und Anglistik studiert und sieben Jahre in Tansania, Großbritannien und Indonesien gelebt. In Jakarta und Berlin hat sie Buchprojekte mit Kindern initiiert. In ihrer eigenen Kunstpraxis druckt sie mit Blättern und Blüten, experimentiert mit pflanzlichen Farbbädern, Tinten und Druckpasten auf Papier und Stoff. So dokumentiert sie kollektive Prozesse aus pflanzlicher Perspektive und stellt sie menschlichen Einflüssen gegenüber. Außerdem entwirft und baut sie gemeinschaftlich Hochbeetbänke im öffentlichen Raum. Ihre Arbeiten wurden im Prinzessinnengarten, im Organ kritischer Kunst (OKK) und im bauhaus reuse Pavillon in Berlin ausgestellt.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Die Auseinandersetzung mit der Natur als Sehnsuchtsort, aber auch als Ort der rücksichtslosen Zerstörung, wenn der Mensch seine Bedürfnisse über die aller anderen Lebewesen stellt.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Ich möchte bewirken, dass die Teilnehmenden die Welt ein kleine bisschen mit anderen Augen sehen, Pflanzen als Lebewesen spüren, die Formen der Bäume und ihrer Blätter bewusster wahrnehmen und dadurch achtsamer mit der Natur umgehen. Außerdem möchte ich bewirken, dass die Teilnehmenden sich selbst bewusster wahrnehmen, zu mehr Ruhe finden und dies künstlerisch ausdrücken.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Sie ermöglicht überraschende ästhetische Erfahrungen, rüttelt auf, lässt uns Dinge hinterfragen und zeigt im besten Fall Lösungen auf. Sie bringt Menschen ins Gespräch.

Kalle Hochbeete, 2021

© Claudia Jahnke

Nach der Projektvorstellung beim Ideen-Forum Nachhaltige Stadt im bauhaus reuse Pavillon haben wir auf einem Berliner Innenstadtplatz in einer gemeinschaftlichen Aktion mit Nachbarn und Menschen, die spontan dazugekommen sind, aus alten Fußbodendielen und Palettenbrettern Hochbeetbänke gebaut. In den Beeten sind naturbelassene Robinienpfähle verankert, die eine Illusion von Wald schaffen, aber auch als Rankhilfe oder zum Anhängen von Objekten dienen. So haben wir Sitzgelegenheiten in einem Halbrund geschaffen, zur Begrünung des Platzes beigetragen, gemeinschaftliches Gärtnern und mehr Kommunikation in der Nachbarschaft ermöglicht, auch über das kontroverse Thema der Verkehrsberuhigung. Außerdem können an diesem neuen Ort Ausstellungen und Workshops stattfinden.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Durch den Bau der Hochbeetbänke für die Gemeinschaft mit bekannten und vorher unbekannten Menschen ist ein Gemeinschaftsgefühl entstanden, das auch Nicht-Beteiligte spüren. Die Bänke sind fast immer besetzt und werden achtsam behandelt. Die Hochbeetbänke schaffen die Möglichkeit zum Dialog, der insbesondere in dieser Pandemie fehlt.