Language:

Home » Fellows » Damian Ibn Salem

Damian Ibn Salem

© Neasa Ní Bhriain

Damian Ibn Salem is active as a conductor, pedagogue and project manager in the area of music. His work focuses on new concepts for instrumental music and contemporary music theatre. He has directed performances at Theater Lüneburg, the Leipzig Opera and the University of Music and Theatre (HMT) “Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy” Leipzig, including operas by living composers and well-known opera repertoires. As a Fellow of the Akademie Musiktheater heute, he is concentrating on a project with the Ensemble Modern. Assignments as an assistant coach have led him to the Leipzig Opera, Chemnitz Theatre and, presently, the Theatre Altenburg Gera. He is also active in the free music scene.

He graduated in piano playing from the Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg and acquired the Bachelor and Master of Music degrees of Music in Conducting at HMT Leipzig under Professor Matthias Foremny.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

The only aspect which all the fields I work in really share is music itself. However, some questions accompany my work all the time. How much does the musical tradition of the past 300 years bear on us. What out of this is truly wealth? Why is there so much which keeps us from adopting an open, modern handling of this tradition?

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

We often let our opinion of artistic work be influenced by numbers of clicks, suggestions or assessments. I would look forward to contributing to a firmer self-consciousness in order to experience culture with inquisitiveness, and without reservations.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

I like Joseph Beuys’ claim that “Every human is an artist”. For cultural education activities, this means that there is no need to teach people art. Instead, we can create and experience art together.

kontext:europa

© Tobias Paul

The project kontext:europa brings controversial cultural assets onstage and looks at cosmopolite Beethoven. With the instrumentation of Irish, Scottish and Welsh folksongs, Beethoven has his contemporaries participate through the aesthetic lens of Viennese classicism – in the historical, social and human needs of these peoples. Centuries-old conflicts are taken as themes, and demonstrate the resentments or links persisting among these people up to this day. Addressing this in the form of music and discussions offers an interesting reflection of these events.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

It was astonishing for me to see how well the discussion was taken up in the course of the concert. Only this enabled the creation of a link with the on-going conflicts between the peoples affected.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Damian Ibn Salem

Damian Ibn Salem

© Neasa Ní Bhriain

Damian Ibn Salem ist als Dirigent, Korrepetitor, Pädagoge und Projektmanager im musikalischen Bereich aktiv. Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit sind die Neukonzeption instrumentaler Musik und das aktuelle Musiktheater. Er leitete Vorstellungen am Theater Lüneburg, der Oper Leipzig und der Hochschule für Musik und Theater (HMT) „Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy“ Leipzig, darunter Opern lebender Komponisten sowie bekanntes Opernrepertoire. Als Stipendiat der Akademie Musiktheater heute arbeitet er an einem Projekt mit dem Ensemble Modern. Engagements als Korrepetitor führten ihn an die Oper Leipzig, das Theater Chemnitz und aktuell an das Theater Altenburg Gera. Er ist außerdem in der freien Musikszene tätig.

Er absolvierte sein Klavierstudium an der Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg und erwarb die Abschlüsse Bachelor und Master of Music Dirigieren an der HMT Leipzig bei Prof. Matthias Foremny.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Das einzige, wirklich Verbindende in meinen Arbeitsfeldern ist die Musik. Einige Fragen begleiten mich in meiner Arbeit aber immer wieder: Wie schwer lastet die musikalische Tradition der vergangenen 300 Jahre auf uns? Was davon ist Reichtum? Warum hindert uns so vieles an einem offenen, zeitgemäßen Umgang mit dieser Tradition?

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Wir lassen uns in unserer Meinung über künstlerische Arbeit oft durch Klickzahlen, Vorschläge oder Beurteilungen leiten. Ich würde mich freuen, zu einem festeren Selbstbewusstsein beitragen zu können, um mit Neugier und ohne Vorbehalt Kultur aufzunehmen.

Was macht für Sie künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Mir gefällt die Aussage von Joseph Beuys „Jeder Mensch ist ein Künstler“. Für die kulturelle Bildungsarbeit bedeutet das, dass es nicht nötig ist, Menschen Kunst beizubringen. Wir können stattdessen zusammen Kunst erschaffen und erleben.

 

 

kontext:europa

© Tobias Paul

Das Projekt kontext:europa bringt kontroverses Kulturgut auf die Bühne und setzt sich mit dem Kosmopoliten Beethoven auseinander. Mit der Instrumentierung irischer, schottischer und walisischer Volkslieder lässt Beethoven seine Zeitgenossen durch die ästhetische Brille der Wiener Klassik teilhaben – an den geschichtlichen, gesellschaftlichen und menschlichen Bedürfnissen dieser Völker. Jahrhundertealte Konflikte werden thematisiert, und zeigen auf, welche Ressentiments oder Verbindungen bis heute zwischen den Menschen bestehen. Die Auseinandersetzung hiermit, in Form von Musik und Gespräch, bietet ein interessantes Zeugnis dieser Ereignisse.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Für mich war erstaunlich, wie gut das Gespräch innerhalb des Konzerts aufgenommen wurde. Erst dadurch konnte eine Verbindung zu aktuellen Konflikten zwischen den betroffenen Völkern hergestellt werden.