Language:

Home » Fellows » Dong Zhou – Questions

Fellows

Dong Zhou – Questions

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

Various topics turn up again and again in my work as an artist: the sound environment and its message, particularly in industrialised urban life, furthermore individuals within a powerful system, misunderstandings and discrimination on the basis of gender and ethnicity as well as Internet culture. These topics frequently overlap since they constitute different sides of contemporary culture.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

While I seek to support people of different origin in expressing themselves and thus becoming visible with my cultural education work, I also want it to help people to achieve mutual understanding and self-reflection.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

Artistic intervention in cultural education finds a topic and seeks to address it with an artistic solution. Sometimes the problem is not immediately solved, although the intervention can integrate the topic in artistic practice and gradually improve the situation.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Dong Zhou – Fragen

Stipendiat:innen

Dong Zhou – Fragen

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

In meiner künstlerischen Arbeit tauchen verschiedene Themen immer wieder auf: die Klangumgebung und ihre Botschaft, insbesondere im industrialisierten städtischen Leben, außerdem Individuen in einem machtvollen System, Missverständnisse und Diskriminierung auf der Grundlage von Gender und Ethnizität sowie die Internetkultur. Diese Themen überlappen einander oft, da es sich bei ihnen um unterschiedliche Seiten der Gegenwartskultur handelt.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Ich möchte mit meiner kulturellen Bildungsarbeit einerseits Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund unterstützen, sich auszudrücken und dadurch sichtbar zu werden. Andererseits möchte ich damit Menschen helfen, sich gegenseitig zu verstehen und sich selbst zu reflektieren.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Die künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung findet ein Thema und versucht, es mit einer künstlerischen Lösung anzusprechen. Manchmal wird das Problem nicht unmittelbar gelöst, jedoch kann die Intervention das Thema in die künstlerische Praxis integrieren und die Situation allmählich verbessern.