Language:

Home » Speaker » Özlem Canyürek

Özlem Canyürek

© Jens Schmidt

Dr phil. Özlem Canyürek is a freelance cultural policy researcher and lecturer. Her research focuses on the mission and role of cultural policy in achieving a fair and accessible performing art scene for all. She studied sociology at the University of Istanbul. After doing her M.A. at Istanbul Bilgi University on the topic of cultural management and cultural policy, she did a doctorate at the University of Hildesheim’s Department of Cultural Policy. Her doctoral thesis addresses the lack of cultural diversity in the German theatre landscape. She proposes framework conditions for a receptive cultural policy in order to initiate cultural diversity for the production and dissemination of thought, experience, knowledge, aesthetics and philosophies of life in an intercultural society. She is a member of the PostHeimat Network and the Global South Arts and Culture Initiative, GLOSACI.

 

What is your professional focus?

My research interests comprise the diversification processes in the performing arts, creating equal access conditions to the performing arts and to Cultural Education for all and the development of intercultural skills and abilities in Cultural Education. I give lectures on discrimination-critical, diversity-oriented perspectives in cultural policy, the performing arts and Cultural Education.

 

What potentials do you see in the certificate course “Artistic Interventions in Cultural Education” for your specialist field?

Cultural Education plays a crucial role in creating more access to and more ownership of culture. “Artistic interventions in Cultural Education” hold the potential to widen horizons and change the Western-dominated form of knowledge production in art. I very much hope that this certificate course can be an opportunity to impart artists with the abilities and skills needed to recognise and appreciate diversified types and manners of aesthetics and artistic formats.

 

Which changes are needed at cultural policy or education policy level to strengthen the potentials of cooperation with artists for Cultural Education in Germany?

First of all, it is important to me to establish a coordinated approach among cultural and education policy towards stable cooperation with artists. However, the crucial question is what Cultural Education we need. The aim ought to be to introduce interculturally oriented perspectives of Cultural Education. With “intercultural”, I am referring to a mutual, lifelong learning process addressing all children and youths, irrespective of their ethnic origin, in a country in which cultural diversity ought to be recognised as a social norm. An integrated cultural and education policy ought to seek the establishment of a variety of cultural expression forms and offer explicit intercultural planning and corresponding implementation strategies in which artists are posited as transmitters of diversified artistic knowledge.

 

Özlem Canyürek at “Artistic Interventions in Cultural Education”

Özlem Canyürek is taking part in the course framework as a lecturer in Module 2: “Theoretical concepts and discourses”. If you have any queries or are interested in cooperating, you are welcome to contact zertifikatskurs [at] uni-hildesheim [dot] de

Sprache:

Home » Referent:innen » Özlem Canyürek

Özlem Canyürek

© Jens Schmidt

Dr. phil. Özlem Canyürek ist freiberufliche Kulturpolitik-Forscherin und Dozentin. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Aufgabe und Rolle der Kulturpolitik, um eine faire und zugängliche Szene der darstellenden Künste für alle zu erreichen. Sie studierte Soziologie an der Universität Istanbul. Nach ihrem M. A. an der Istanbul Bilgi Universität zum Thema Kulturmanagement und Kulturpolitik promovierte sie an der Universität Hildesheim am Institut für Kulturpolitik. In ihrer Dissertation beschäftigt sie sich mit der mangelnden kulturellen Vielfalt in der deutschen Theaterlandschaft. Sie schlägt Rahmenbedingungen einer rezeptiven Kulturpolitik vor, um kulturelle Vielfalt in Bewegung zu setzen für die Produktion und Verbreitung der Diversität von Gedanken, Erfahrungen, Wissen, Ästhetik und Weltanschauungen einer interkulturellen Gesellschaft. Sie ist Mitglied des PostHeimat-Netzwerks und der Global South Arts and Culture Initiative, GLOSACI.

 

 

 

Was ist Ihr beruflicher Schwerpunkt?

Meine Forschungsinteressen umfassen die Diversifizierungsprozesse in den darstellenden Künsten, die Schaffung gleicher Zugangsbedingungen zu den darstellenden Künsten und zu Kultureller Bildung für alle und den Aufbau interkultureller Kompetenzen und Fähigkeiten in der Kulturellen Bildung. Ich halte Vorträge zu diskriminierungskritischen, diversitätsorientierten Perspektiven in der Kulturpolitik, den darstellenden Künsten und der Kulturellen Bildung.

 

Welche Potenziale sehen Sie in dem Zertifikatskurs „Künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung“ für Ihr Fachgebiet?

Kulturelle Bildung spielt eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Stärkung des Zugangs zu und der Teilhabe an Kultur. „Künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung“ haben das Potenzial, Horizonte zu erweitern und die westlich dominierte Form der Wissensproduktion in den Künsten zu verändern. Ich hoffe sehr, dass dieser Zertifikatskurs eine Möglichkeit sein kann, Künstler:innen die notwendigen Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen für das Erkennen und die Wertschätzung diversifizierter Arten und Weisen der Ästhetik und künstlerischer Formate zu vermitteln.

 

Welche Veränderungen sind auf kultur- oder bildungspolitischer Ebene notwendig, um die Potenziale einer Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler:innen für die Kulturelle Bildung in Deutschland zu stärken?

Erstens ist es wichtig, ein koordiniertes Vorgehen zwischen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik für eine stabile Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler:innen zu etablieren. Die entscheidende Frage ist jedoch, welche Kulturelle Bildung wir brauchen. Ziel sollte es sein, interkulturell orientierte Perspektiven der Kulturellen Bildung einzuführen. Unter interkulturell verstehe ich einen wechselseitigen, lebenslangen Lernprozess, der sich an alle Kinder und Jugendlichen richtet, unabhängig von ihrer ethnischen Herkunft in einem Land, in dem kulturelle Vielfalt als gesellschaftliche Norm anerkannt werden sollte. Eine vernetzte Kultur- und Bildungspolitik sollte sich um die Verbreitung verschiedener kultureller Ausdrucksformen bemühen und eine explizite interkulturelle Planung und entsprechende Umsetzungsstrategien anbieten, in denen Künstler:innen als Übermittler:innen von diversifiziertem künstlerischem Wissen positioniert werden.

 

Özlem Canyürek bei „Künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung“

Özlem Canyürek beteiligt sich im Rahmen des Kurses als Referentin in Modul 2: „Theoretische Konzepte und Diskurse“. Bei Fragen oder Interesse einer Zusammenarbeit wenden Sie sich gern an zertifikatskurs [at] uni-hildesheim [dot] de