Language:

Home » Fellows » Dong Zhou

Dong Zhou

© Thomas Zydatis

 

Dong Zhou (*1992) is a composer, media artist and performer. She obtained her B. A. in Music Design at the Shanghai Conservatory and her M. A. in Multimedia Composition at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg. Zhou was commissioned to compose works for the Shanghai International Art Festival, the Hamburg CLAB Festival and the Center for Art and Media (ZKM) Karlsruhe. In 2018, she won the 1st Prize in “ICMC Hack-N-Makerthon”. In 2019, she made it to the Finale of the Geran Music Competition. She is currently doing her doctorate at Leuphana University Lüneburg on the topic of “Site-specific Multimedia Performance as an Artform”.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

Various topics turn up again and again in my work as an artist: the sound environment and its message, particularly in industrialised urban life, furthermore individuals within a powerful system, misunderstandings and discrimination on the basis of gender and ethnicity as well as Internet culture. These topics frequently overlap since they constitute different sides of contemporary culture.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

While I seek to support people of different origin in expressing themselves and thus becoming visible with my cultural education work, I also want it to help people to achieve mutual understanding and self-reflection.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

Artistic intervention in cultural education finds a topic and seeks to address it with an artistic solution. Sometimes the problem is not immediately solved, although the intervention can integrate the topic in artistic practice and gradually improve the situation.

Gong project, 2017

© Dong Zhou

In 2017, Wang Shiwen and I founded the collective “Gong Project”, which produces interdisciplinary music works and brings together musicians representing different music styles. In this project, we aim to provide the opportunity to look at Chinese folklore and philosophy and transform it into music and performance in order to use it to comment on and criticise contemporary society.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

I have learnt to perceive music not only as an acoustic result but also as an approach to a context and a means of exploring its historical background. This experience has in turn inspired my compositions. Especially when I create performative works of art, they give the music a new dimension. While collaborating with musicians from various regions, I learn how they understand and express culture. I then explain some Chinese cultural phenomena. This sharing of experiences is not meant to be an exotic exhibition but is intended as a platform for mutual understanding and discussing current topics in society. Experience gained can also be transferred to the curating of concerts.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Dong Zhou

Dong Zhou

© Thomas Zydatis

Dong Zhou (*1992) ist Komponistin, Medienkünstlerin und Performerin. Sie erwarb ihren B. A. in Music Design am Shanghai Conservatory und ihren M. A. in Multimedialer Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg. Zhou komponierte Auftragswerke für das Shanghai International Art Festival, das Hamburg CLAB Festival und das Zentrum für Kunst und Medien (ZKM) Karlsruhe. Im Jahr 2018 gewann sie den 1. Preis des ICMC Hack-N-Makerthon. Im Jahr 2019 erreichte sie das Finale des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs. Derzeit promoviert sie an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg zum Thema „Site-specific Multimedia Performance as an Artform“.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

In meiner künstlerischen Arbeit tauchen verschiedene Themen immer wieder auf: die Klangumgebung und ihre Botschaft, insbesondere im industrialisierten städtischen Leben, außerdem Individuen in einem machtvollen System, Missverständnisse und Diskriminierung auf der Grundlage von Gender und Ethnizität sowie die Internetkultur. Diese Themen überlappen einander oft, da es sich bei ihnen um unterschiedliche Seiten der Gegenwartskultur handelt.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Ich möchte mit meiner kulturellen Bildungsarbeit einerseits Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund unterstützen, sich auszudrücken und dadurch sichtbar zu werden. Andererseits möchte ich damit Menschen helfen, sich gegenseitig zu verstehen und sich selbst zu reflektieren.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Die künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung findet ein Thema und versucht, es mit einer künstlerischen Lösung anzusprechen. Manchmal wird das Problem nicht unmittelbar gelöst, jedoch kann die Intervention das Thema in die künstlerische Praxis integrieren und die Situation allmählich verbessern.

 Gong Projekt, 2017

© Dong Zhou

Im Jahr 2017 gründeten Wang Shiwen und ich gemeinsam das Kollektiv „Gong Projekt“, das interdisziplinäre Musikstücke produziert und Musiker:innen verschiedener Stilrichtungen zusammenbringt. In diesem Projekt wollen wir die Möglichkeit bieten, sich mit chinesischer Folklore und Philosophie auseinanderzusetzen, sie in Musik und Performance zu transformieren, um damit die heutige Gesellschaft zu kommentieren und zu kritisieren.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Ich habe gelernt, die Musik nicht nur als akustisches Ergebnis wahrzunehmen, sondern einen Zugang zum Kontext zu bekommen sowie den historischen Hintergrund zu erforschen. Diese Erfahrung wiederum inspiriert meine Kompositionen. Besonders wenn ich performative Stücke kreiere, verleihen sie der Musik eine neue Dimension. Während der Kollaboration mit Musiker:innen aus verschiedenen Regionen lerne ich, wie sie Kultur verstehen und ausdrücken. Ich erkläre dann einige chinesische kulturelle Phänomene. Dieser Erfahrungsaustausch soll keine exotische Ausstellung sein, sondern eine Plattform für gegenseitiges Verständnis und die Diskussion aktueller gesellschaftlicher Themen. Die gewonnene Erfahrung aus diesem Austausch kann außerdem auch auf das Kuratieren von Konzerten übertragen werden.