Language:

Home » Fellows » Olek Konrad Witt

Olek Konrad Witt

 

© Rolf Franke

Olek Konrad Witt is a theatre director, performer, actor and theatre pedagogue. He was born in Poland and emigrated to Germany in 1978. Witt studied philosophy, sociology and political science at universities in Heidelberg, London and Berlin. Having graduated as a diploma politologist, he studied dancing and drama at the Academy for Visual Art in Poznan and at the Berlin Theatre Academy. In 1995, he founded the “Theater am Ende” and created Site-specific Performances. Witt engages in promoting creative potential among children and youths, and in 2003, he founded the Ensemble “spinaTheater”, and in 2008, in Berlin, the intercultural group “Theater der Migranten” (theatre of migrants). With the Dresden collective “re-Publik Performance”, he realises projects on memory culture.

 

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

Following Joseph Beuys’ motto that “everyone is an artist”, I again and again concentrate on promoting the creative potential of children and youths. I apply Devising Theatre methods in developing performances. The central aspects are collective, collaborative and improvisational work and research addressing reality in society as well as respect for different life experiences and concepts. I use unconventional formats such as theatre parcours, which enable a wider audience in various social spaces to gain more direct access to art. To me, the focal aspect is to recognise visible and invisible boundaries, to question them, for theatre art is dialogue.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

I want to see to it that participation is strengthened, new, unconventional ways of gaining access to art beyond privileges based on origin or education are created and personal development as well as the self-responsibility of creative self-definition are enhanced. A democratic society is always a changing society. By applying theatre-pedagogical and performative methods, the development of creativeness and aesthetic education is promoted as a basis of cultural and political participation.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

It supports aesthetic sensitisation and the breaking open of everyday perception through discovering, researching and a manifestation of new perspectives. Furthermore, it contributes to consciously and actively designing changes in social spaces. It promotes recognising and questioning structures which impede necessary process of change, as well as temporary and spontaneous activities in public spaces and long-term strategies drawing attention to deficits, inequalities and discrimination while simultaneously aiming at positive changes and enabling participation with comprehensive inclusion.

Change of location – scenes from the life of a city

© Bernd Banski

The production “Ortswechsel. Szenen aus dem Leben einer Stadt” by the “Theater der Migranten” takes the audience on a trip around the streets and the hauses of the “Reuterkiez” district in Berlin-Neukölln. The spectators walk in groups and experience drama as a parcours around familiar and unfamiliar places. There, young actors of the multicultural ensemble have developed exciting, very musical and sometimes also bizarre scenes. Whether it be a Turkish barber, a Polish bookstore, a German bicycle shop or a Brazilian cafe – each of these places is a stage which is perfomed on in a wide range of ways by the artists. Here, the boundaries between fiction and reality are fluid. Drama thus becomes a form of expressing multi-layered everyday culture.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

This project was an encouraging experiment which taught me how social art can work. Art as a participatory, low-threshold intervention in a public space. It was an experience full of insights to perform with a multicultural team in different locations of an urban district. With their historical and social backgrounds, with their authentic everday backdrops, these locations are a source of inspiration for a collaborative inventing of stories in which all players can participate, contribute their wide range of skills and have great fun.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Olek Konrad Witt

Olek Konrad Witt

© Rolf Franke

Olek Konrad Witt ist Theaterregisseur, Performer, Schauspieler und Theaterpädagoge. Er wurde in Polen geboren und emigrierte 1978 nach Deutschland. Witt studierte Philosophie, Soziologie und Politikwissenschaft an Universitäten in Heidelberg, London und Berlin. Nach Abschluss als Diplom-Politologe studierte er Tanz und Schauspiel an der Akademie für Visuelle Kunst in Posen und an der Schauspielakademie in Berlin. 1995 gründete er das „Theater am Ende“ und schuf Site-specific Performances. Witt engagiert sich in der Förderung von kreativen Potenzialen von Kindern und Jugendlichen und gründete 2003 in Solingen das Ensemble „spinaTheater“ und 2008 in Berlin die interkulturelle Gruppe „Theater der Migranten“. Mit dem Dresdner Kollektiv „re-Publik Performance“ realisiert er Projekte zu Erinnerungskultur.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf? 

Entsprechend dem Motto „Jeder Mensch ist ein Künstler“ von Joseph Beuys, taucht bei mir immer wieder die Förderung von kreativen Potenzialen von Kindern und Jugendlichen auf. Ich wende Methoden des Devising Theatre bei der Entwicklung von Performances an. Zentral sind kollektives, kollaboratives und improvisatorisches Arbeiten und Erforschen der sozialen Wirklichkeit sowie der Respekt für unterschiedliche Lebenserfahrungen und Entwürfe. Ich wende unkonventionelle Formate wie Theaterparcours an, die einem breiteren Publikum in diversen sozialen Räumen einen direkteren Zugang zur Kunst ermöglichen. Es geht mir um das Erkennen von sichtbaren und unsichtbaren Grenzen, um sie zu hinterfragen, denn Theaterkunst ist Dialog.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken? 

Ich möchte bewirken, dass die Partizipation gestärkt wird, neue, unkonventionelle Zugängen zu Kunst jenseits von Privilegien aufgrund der Herkunft oder Bildung geschaffen werden, die persönliche Entwicklung sowie die Eigenverantwortung der kreativen Selbstbestimmung gestärkt werden. Eine demokratische Gesellschaft ist stets eine Gesellschaft im Wandel. Dieser Wandel braucht immer wieder neue individuelle und kollektive Gestaltungsfähigkeit. Durch die Anwendung von theaterpädagogischen und performativen Methoden wird die Entfaltung der Kreativität und der ästhetische Bildung als Basis für die kulturelle und politische Teilhabe gefördert.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus? 

Sie sorgt für eine ästhetische Sensibilisierung und Durchbrechung von Alltagswahrnehmung durch Entdeckung, Erforschung und Manifestation von neuen Perspektiven. Außerdem trägt sie dazu bei, Veränderungen in sozialen Räumen durch dialogische Prozesse bewusst und aktiv zu gestalten. Sie fördert das Erkennen und Infragestellen von Strukturen, die die notwendigen Veränderungsprozesse behindern, sowie temporäre und spontane Aktionen im öffentlichem Raum als auch langfristig angelegte Strategien, die auf Defizite, Ungleichheiten und Diskriminierung aufmerksam machen und zugleich auf positive Veränderungen zielen sowie eine Teilhabe mit einer umfassenden Inklusion ermöglichen.

Ortswechsel – Szenen aus dem Leben einer Stadt

© Bernd Banski

Die Produktion des Theaters der Migranten nimmt das Publikum in „Ortswechsel. Szenen aus dem Leben einer Stadt“ mit auf eine Reise durch die Straßen und die Häuser des Reuterkiezes in Berlin-Neukölln. Die Zuschauer:innen wandern in Gruppen und erleben Theater als einen Parcours an bekannten und unbekannten Orten. Dort haben junge Akteur:innen des multikulturellen Ensembles kurzweilige, sehr musikalische und manchmal auch skurrile Szenen entwickelt. Ob ein türkischer Friseur, eine polnische Buchhandlung, ein deutscher Fahrradladen oder ein brasilianisches Cafe – jeder dieser Orte ist eine Bühne, die von den Darsteller:innen vielfältig bespielt wird. Hier sind die Grenzen zwischen Fiktion und Wirklichkeit fließend. Theaterkunst wird zur Ausdrucksform der vielschichtigen Alltagskultur.

Was haben Sie aus dem Projekt für ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Dieses Projekt war ein ermutigendes Experiment. Ich habe hier gelernt, wie soziale Kunst funktionieren kann. Kunst als partizipative, niederschwellige Intervention im öffentlichen Raum. Es war eine erkenntnisreiche Erfahrung in einem multikulturellen Team verschiedene Orte eines Stadtteils zu bespielen. Diese Orte mit ihren historischen und sozialen Backgrounds, mit ihren authentischen Alltagskulissen, sind eine Inspirationsquelle für ein kollaboratives Erfinden von Geschichten, an dem sich alle Spieler:innen mit ihren diversen Fähigkeiten und mit großer Spielfreude beteiligen können.