Language:

Home » Fellows » Mareike Wenzel

Mareike Wenzel

© Merav Maroody

Actress and theatre maker Mareike Wenzel has been a member of the Danish-Austrian performance collective SIGNA since 2007. In addition, she develops her own performance formats and artistic interventions in cultural education. Her works of art focus strongly on public and private spaces as well as different realities of life. For the last ten years, Wenzel has been working in Georgia again and again, where she teaches Performance and Immersives Theater at the Center of Contemporary Art Tbilisi and deals with participatory, artistic formats for the womens’ rights organisation WISG. In 2016, Wenzel founded the Georgian non-governmental organisation Aitsona Daitsona for children’s theatre and cultural education projects.

www.mareikewenzel.com

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

My works of art are very strongly based on locations and spaces which I research and take a new look at together with various groups. Redefining familiar narratives and redesigning spaces are at the centre of my work. One focus here is experiences made by women and dealing with public and private spaces. I am interested in putting different narratives on top of each other and linking up with locations to enable the creation of new spaces for thought and encounters as well as in developing a common language of art.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

To me, cultural education work means creating and opening up common spaces to enable new narratives to develop, question existing structures and enable participation. Art as a shared experience and communicating in a common language which evolves through and in constant exchange. It can develop new new narratives on existing places or positions, challenging both the audience and participants to question their own perceptions and behavioural partterns, thus creating scope for novelties and a new understanding of culture.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

It creates places of exchange, encounter and the discussion of different positions and opens up new scope for knowledge and discourse. Awareness of different realities of life can be created with artistic means. For me, such activities are always an exchange and transfer of knowledge, a common quest and common negotiating of topics, always staying open-minded and at eye-level. They question conventional cultural practice, create new art venues and enable participation from the perspective of the participant and the observer.

PLAY, 2015

© Mariam Gabritchidze

PLAY was a creation for the Tbilisi Triennial 2015. For several months, I worked for the inhabitants of the Georgian village of Machkhaani in order to perform at the disused theatre there and reintegrate it in village life. The project set out from memories of the inhabitants. Together, we gathered stories about the village, the theatre and the inhabitants and translated them into installations. The theatre was redesigned with the villagers according to their ideas and then reopened. In addition, together with school pupils, I developed an immersive stage play about their lives in Machkhaani, freely adapted from “Romeo and Julia”, which led spectators around the whole village and ended in the theatre.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

The project forms the beginning of my further work in the field of artistic interventions in cultural education. The long period of activities at local level showed me the importance of time-intensive working to enable something to develop together and allow work at eye-level. I have learnt to harmonise my own position as an artist with the needs of the participants, reassess them again and again and adopt an open-minded approach in working. I see myself as a mediator looking for aspects to take up, bringing along different material and providing an aesthetic framework.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Mareike Wenzel

Mareike Wenzel

© Merav Maroody

Die Schauspielerin und Theatermacherin Mareike Wenzel ist seit 2007 Teil des dänisch-österreichischen Performance-Kollektivs SIGNA. Darüber hinaus entwickelt sie eigene Performance-Formate und künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung. Ihre Arbeiten setzen sich stark mit öffentlichen und privaten Räumen und unterschiedlichen Lebensrealitäten auseinander. Seit zehn Jahren arbeitet Wenzel immer wieder in Georgien. Dort unterrichtet sie Performance und Immersives Theater am Center of Contemporary Art Tbilisi und arbeitet an partizipativen, künstlerischen Formaten für die Frauen*rechtsorganisation WISG. 2016 gründete Wenzel die georgische Nichtregierungsorganisation Aitsona Daitsona für Kindertheater und kulturelle Bildungsprojekte.

www.mareikewenzel.com

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Meine Arbeiten gehen sehr stark von Orten und Räumen aus, die ich gemeinsam mit verschiedenen Gruppen erforsche und neu betrachte. Das Umdefinieren von gängigen Narrativen und Neugestalten von Räumen stehen im Zentrum meiner Arbeit. Ein Schwerpunkt dabei sind Erfahrungen von Frauen und die Auseinandersetzung mit öffentlichen und privaten Räumen. Mich interessiert das Übereinanderlegen verschiedener Narrative und die Verknüpfung mit Orten, um neue Gedanken- und Begegnungsräume entstehen zu lassen und eine gemeinsame künstlerische Sprache zu entwickeln.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Kulturelle Bildungsarbeit bedeutet für mich, gemeinsame Räume zu schaffen und zu öffnen, um neue Narrative entstehen zu lassen, bestehende Strukturen zu hinterfragen und Teilhabe zu ermöglichen. Kunst als ein gemeinsames Erlebnis und Kommunizieren in einer gemeinsamen Sprache, die sich durch und in einem ständigen Austausch entwickelt. Sie kann neue Narrative zu bestehenden Orten oder Positionen entwickeln und dabei Zuschauende sowie Teilnehmende herausfordern, eigene Wahrnehmungen und Verhaltensmuster zu hinterfragen und so Raum für Neues und ein neues kulturelles Verständnis zu schaffen.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Sie schafft Orte des Austauschs, der Begegnung und Auseinandersetzung mit unterschiedlichen Positionen und eröffnet neue Wissens- und Diskursräume. Mit künstlerischen Mitteln kann Bewusstsein für unterschiedliche Lebensrealitäten geschaffen werden. Für mich sind diese Arbeiten immer ein Austausch und Wissenstransfer, eine gemeinsame Suche und gemeinsames Verhandeln von Themen, immer ergebnisoffen und auf Augenhöhe. Sie hinterfragen gängige kulturelle Praxis, schaffen neue künstlerische Begegnungsorte und ermöglichen Partizipation aus Sicht der Teilnehmenden sowie der Betrachtenden.

PLAY, 2015

© Mariam Gabritchidze

PLAY war eine Arbeit für die Tbilisi Triennial 2015. Über mehrere Monate arbeitete ich mit den Bewohner:innen des georgischen Dorfs Machkhaani zusammen, um in verschiedenen Interventionen das dortige, leerstehende Theater zu bespielen und wieder in das Dorfleben zu integrieren. Das Projekt knüpfte an Erinnerungen der Bewohner:innen an. Gemeinsam sammelten wir Geschichten über das Dorf, das Theater und die Bewohner:innen und setzten sie in Installationen um. Das Theater wurde mit den Dorfbewohner:innen nach ihren Ideen umgestaltet und wiedereröffnet. Darüber hinaus entwickelte ich mit Schüler:innen ein immersives Theaterstück über ihr Leben in Machkhaani, frei nach „Romeo und Julia“, das durch das ganze Dorf führte und im Theater endete.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Das Projekt ist Ausgangpunkt für meine späteren Arbeiten im Bereich künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung. Die lange Arbeit vor Ort hat mir gezeigt, wie wichtig das zeitintensive Arbeiten ist, um etwas gemeinsam entstehen zu lassen und Arbeit auf Augenhöhe zu ermöglichen. Ich habe gelernt, meine eigene künstlerische Position mit den Bedürfnissen der Teilnehmenden in Einklang zu bringen, sie immer wieder neu zu bewerten und ergebnisoffen zu arbeiten. Ich sehe mich als Mittlerin, die nach Anknüpfungspunkten sucht, verschiedene Materialen zusammenbringt und ästhetische Rahmen setzt.