Language:

Home » Fellows » Elisaveta Siomicheva

Elisaveta Siomicheva

 

© privat

Elizaveta Siomicheva (*1985, St. Petersburg, Russia) is a multidisciplinary artist, curator and culture manager who is based in Berlin. As a trained journalist, she has worked as a producer of documentary films and as a photographer. Her topics are documentary art, societal change, diversity and migration, and promoting all forms of equality through artistic work. Since 2010, Siomicheva has been working as a curator of cultural events and festivals, creating scope for discussions at the interface between art and societal topics. She received a scholarship to run a research-based project on “International Practices in Art. Art Festivals and Artist Residences promoting Collaboration between Artists, Mediators and Participants.”

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

Based on my training as a journalist and documentary film producer, I have always seen art as social practice. Since 2011, I have been working as a cultural manager and curator. My work often confronts me with the topic of privileges. Every human, every child is naturally talented and gifted. But often, society offers no opportunity and no favourable environment for individuals to realise their potential. Therefore, it is important for me to deal, for example, with the topic of migration.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

I hope that my cultural education work is contributing to world-wide justice, inclusion and peace. But I would at least like to achieve that all individuals believe in their uniqueness and express themselves freely.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

Presently, cultural education has a considerable potential to result in changes regarding the most important challenges. I am sure that both the education system and the educational concepts will have to undergo significant modifications. In this sense, art and artistic interventions in education can lead to inspirations, new approaches and new energy. I hope that artistic interventions are promoting interest in conventional knowledge and simultaneously offering new opportunities to get to know the world better.

 

 

Russion without a dictionary

Together with a team of young producers, dramatists and artists, we have developed a project called “Russisch ohne Wörterbuch” (Russian without a dictionary). The project helps children with a migratory background to learn Russian through drama, storytelling and art practices. Together with the children, we told stories about ourselves, compiled our own vocabulary and drew comics about the life of migrant children in Russia. We worked together with Boarding School No. 28, in which 150 children and youths from crisis families and children from migrant families studied. Many of them did not speak Russian well. Not only did this have an impact on progress they were making in their school subjects, but they were also affected in their communication with others. Our courses helped the children to learn Russian with creative techniques, and without the dictionary.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Elisaveta Siomicheva

Elisaveta Siomicheva

© privat

Elisaveta Siomicheva (*1985, St. Petersburg, Russland) ist eine multidisziplinäre Künstlerin, Kuratorin und Kulturmanagerin, die in Berlin ansässig ist. Als ausgebildete Journalistin betätigte sie sich als Produzentin von Dokumentarfilmen und als Fotografin. Ihre Themen sind dokumentarische Kunst, sozialer Wandel, Diversität und Migration sowie die Förderung aller Formen der Gleichstellung durch künstlerische Arbeit. Seit 2010 arbeitet Siomicheva als Kuratorin von Kulturveranstaltungen und Festivals und schafft dabei Raum für Diskussionen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst und gesellschaftlichen Themen. Sie erhielt ein Stipendium für die Durchführung eines forschungsbasierten Projekts über „Internationale Kunstpraktiken. Kunstfestivals und Künstlerresidenzen, die zur Zusammenarbeit von Künstler:innen, Mediator:innen und Teilnehmer:innen führen.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Aufgrund meiner Ausbildungen als Journalistin und Dokumentarfilmerin habe ich Kunst immer als soziale Praxis betrachtet. Seit 2011 arbeite ich als Kulturmanagerin und Kuratorin. Bei meiner Arbeit stoße ich oft auf das Thema Privilegien. Jeder Mensch, jedes Kind ist von Natur aus talentiert und begabt. Aber oft bietet die Gesellschaft keine Gelegenheit und kein gutes Umfeld für eine Person, damit sie sich verwirklichen kann. Daher ist es mir wichtig, mich zum Beispiel mit dem Thema Migration zu beschäftigen.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Ich hoffe, mit meiner kulturellen Bildungsarbeit zu weltweiter Gerechtigkeit, Inklusion und Frieden beitragen zu können. Aber zumindest möchte ich erreichen, dass jede Person an ihre Einzigartigkeit glaubt und sich frei äußert.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Die Kulturelle Bildung hat zurzeit ein großes Potenzial, bei den wichtigsten Herausforderungen Veränderungen herbeizuführen. Ich bin sicher, dass sich sowohl das Bildungssystem als auch die Bildungskonzepte erheblich ändern müssen. In diesem Sinne können Kunst und künstlerische Eingriffe in die Bildung zu Inspirationen, neuen Ansätzen und neuer Energie führen. Ich hoffe, dass künstlerische Interventionen das Interesse an konventionellem Wissen fördern und gleichzeitig neue Möglichkeiten bieten, die Welt besser kennenzulernen.

Russisch ohne Wörterbuch

Zusammen mit einem Team junger Regisseur:innen, Dramatiker:innen und Künstler:innen haben wir ein Projekt namens „Russisch ohne Wörterbuch“ entwickelt. Das Projekt hilft Kindern mit Migrationserfahrung, Russisch durch Theater, Geschichtenerzählen und künstlerische Praktiken zu lernen. Zusammen mit den Kindern erzählten wir Geschichten über uns selbst, erstellten unser eigenes Vokabular und zeichneten Comics über das Leben von Migrantenkindern in Russland. Wir haben mit dem Internat Nr. 28 zusammengearbeitet, in dem 150 Kinder und Jugendliche aus Krisenfamilien sowie Kinder aus Migrantenfamilien studierten. Viele von ihnen sprachen nicht gut Russisch. Dies wirkte sich nicht nur auf ihre Fortschritte in den Schulfächern aus, sondern auch auf ihre Kommunikation mit anderen. Unsere Kurse halfen den Kindern, mit kreativen Techniken Russisch ohne Wörterbuch zu lernen.