Language:

Home » Fellows » Baharak Omidfard

Baharak Omidfard

© privat

Baharak Omidfard is an artist, curator and art historian. She studied visual communication at Teheran University of Art and art history and Islamic studies at Albert Ludwigs Universität of Freiburg, focusing on sacral buildings. As an artist, she took part in exhibitions in Iran and in Germany. In parallel, during the last ten years, she has curated art exhibitions in Switzerland and in Germany and written partly journalistic texts on contemporary art. In 2018/2019, was awarded the Curator’s Scholarship of the Rhineland Palatinate Foundation at the Balmoral Castle House of Artists. She has professional experience in museum contexts. She is currently designing projects at the interface between art and society.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

The following topics are involved in my interdisciplinary work and research:
collections and archives as an art strategy, curator activity as an art medium, bidding farewell as a strategy for a new start and to illustrate the events of the day.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

With my cultural education activities, I seek to create more acceptance of diversity in the art and cultural landscape, as well as to contribute to inter- and trans-culturality becoming commonplace in the art and cultural context and to sociocultural interests being considered in cultural education.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

I regard combining artistic intervention with cultural education as a highly interesting and, indeed, necessary endeavour. To me, artistic intervention is a constructive critique of the existing ossified structures in cultural education aimed at being able to agilely address the diversified urban society in the here and now. Such “interventions” can act as opening spaces and opening strategies for interaction and participation in which inter- and transcultural conflicts can stimulate the development of identity at individual and organisational level.

Illustrating my history with pottery, 2019

© Baharak Omidfard

In the summer of 2019, I worked at IN VIA, reg. Ass., together with women of Afghan and Yazidi origin and developed the project “Illustrating my history with pottery”, which was based on the visualisation of storytelling. The idea was to open up one’s own areas of experience and communicate the stories – together with other participants as a connecting element. The aim was to gain mutual confidence and create spaces for encounters and communication. While doing pottery, topics such as what used to be and what is now home, emancipation and women’s rights arose. For the sake of privacy, taking photos was not allowed at IN VIA, which is why I later on designed the “Tooth of pain” object which relates to a participant’s story and her toothache while fleeing.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

For my work as an artist, as a result of the project, I realised the importance of recognising the needs of the group and developing creative or artistic methods for them, and I realised the significance of accepting all forms of insight as equal and involving them in the work process.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Baharak Omidfard

Baharak Omidfard

© privat

Baharak Omidfard ist Künstlerin, Kuratorin und Kunsthistorikerin. Sie studierte Visuelle Kommunikation an der Teheran University of Art und Kunstgeschichte und Islamwissenschaft mit dem Schwerpunkt Sakralbauten an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg. Als Künstlerin nahm sie an Ausstellungen im Iran und in Deutschland teil. Parallel dazu kuratierte sie in den vergangenen zehn Jahren Kunstausstellungen in der Schweiz und in Deutschland und schrieb journalistische Texte zur zeitgenössischen Kunst. 2018/2019 wurde sie mit dem Kuratoren-Stipendium der Stiftung Rheinland-Pfalz für Kultur im Künstlerhaus Schloss Balmoral ausgezeichnet. Sie verfügt über Berufserfahrung in musealen Kontexten. Derzeit entwirft sie Projekte an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst und Gesellschaft.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

In meiner interdisziplinären Arbeit und Forschung beschäftige ich mich mit folgenden Themen: Sammlungen und Archive als Kunststrategie, kuratorische Tätigkeit als Kunstmedium, Abschied als Strategie für einen Neuanfang und zur Veranschaulichung der Ereignisse des Tages.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Mit meinen kulturellen Bildungsaktivitäten versuche ich, mehr Akzeptanz für Vielfalt in der Kunst- und Kulturlandschaft zu schaffen sowie dazu beizutragen, dass Inter- und Transkulturalität im Kunst- und Kulturkontext alltäglich und soziokulturelle Interessen in der Kulturellen Bildung berücksichtigt werden.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Die Verbindung von künstlerischer Intervention und Kultureller Bildung halte ich für ein hochinteressantes und in der Tat notwendiges Unterfangen. Künstlerische Intervention ist für mich eine konstruktive Kritik an den bestehenden verknöcherten Strukturen in der Kulturellen Bildung, die darauf abzielt, die diversifizierte Stadtgesellschaft im Hier und Jetzt agil ansprechen zu können. Solche „Interventionen“ können als Öffnungsräume und Öffnungsstrategien für Interaktion und Partizipation fungieren, in denen inter- und transkulturelle Konflikte die Identitätsentwicklung auf individueller und organisatorischer Ebene anregen können.

 

Meine Geschichte töpfern, 2019

© Baharak Omidfard

Im Sommer 2019 arbeitete ich bei IN VIA e. V.mit Frauen afghanischer und jesidischer Herkunft zusammen und entwickelte das Projekt „Illustrating my history with pottery“, das auf der Visualisierung des Geschichtenerzählens basierte. Die Idee war, die eigenen Erfahrungsfelder zu erschließen und die Geschichten zu kommunizieren – gemeinsam mit anderen Teilnehmer:innen als verbindendes Element. Ziel war es, gegenseitiges Vertrauen zu gewinnen und Räume für Begegnung und Kommunikation zu schaffen. Beim Töpfern entstanden Themen wie das, was früher war und heute Heimat ist, Emanzipation und Frauenrechte. Aus Gründen der Privatsphäre war das Fotografieren bei IN VIA nicht erlaubt, weshalb ich später das Objekt „Zahn des Schmerzes“ entwarf, das sich auf die Geschichte einer Teilnehmerin und ihre Zahnschmerzen auf der Flucht bezieht.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Für meine Arbeit als Künstlerin erkannte ich als Ergebnis des Projekts, wie wichtig es ist, die Bedürfnisse der Gruppe zu erkennen und kreative oder künstlerische Methoden für sie zu entwickeln. Außerdem erkannte ich, wie wichtig es ist, alle Formen der Einsicht als gleichwertig zu akzeptieren und sie in den Arbeitsprozess einzubeziehen.