Language:

Home » Fellows » Robert Krainhöfner

Robert Krainhöfner

© Tina Peissker

Robert Krainhöfner (*1967), born in Jena, is a trained toolmaker and wood-carver. Until 1999, he studied wood-carving under Professor Christian Höpfner at the Academy of Fine Arts Nuremberg. Following a visiting semester “Freie Kunst” (free art) at the Bauhaus University Weimar, he did postgraduate studies in “Art in Public Spaces” under Professor Johannes Peter Hölzinger, also in Nuremberg. Since 2001, Krainhöfner has been working as a freelance artist, exhibiting his work and participating in numerous competitions. He has already earned several scholarships. In parallel, from 2001 to 2006, he worked as a freelance teacher at the “Freie Waldorfschule Jena”. Since 2006, he has engaged in cultural education at various, usually reform pedagogics-oriented schools and adult education institutions, during the last few years also often with a focus on the “Kulturagentenprogramm”.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

My work always starts with simple geometrical forms, such as the circle, the square and the bar, which obviously undergo a process of modification. These elementary forms are folded or cut apart and newly arranged according to predefined rules. Inquisitiveness seeking to show the living and non-visible essence of geometry is at the forefront of my examinations. Folded spaces are developed which can be traced back to their original setting with imaginative attention. One is challenged to take a close look and understand the playful links between surfaces and spaces. I look at them as “Visual Sounds”.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

In my workshops and projects, I seek to have teaching art put more emphasis on practice, or to create an atelier atmosphere, something that can seldom be achieved in conventional school lessons. Working together and vying to find good solutions results in questions of immediate importance which can directly be discussed on the basis of the given situation. Taking these questions seriously builds courage and inspires the participants to think in larger dimensions. In this manner, outsiders in particular can learn to focus on certain topics. The general aim is to rouse a passion for and confidence in the creative process.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

With my artistic interventions in cultural education, I seek to break the mould of what has been achievable so far and sharpen anew the view of what the status of art is. First of all of course among school pupils, but also among teachers and parents. It is experiences beyond everyday life at school which get pupils to venture out of their comfort zone and thus reveal something which lies deeper. Thus I would like to leave lasting experiences for posterity which can only seldom be gained in the normal operations of our education system.

Walter Gropius: Workshop weeks

© Robert Krainhöfner

To mark the centenary of the Bauhaus, in cooperation with Walter Gropius School in Erfurt, the idea arose to develop a sculpture with the pupils doing justice to the artistic claim of the school’s name giver, Walter-Gropius, which could ultimately also be realised in the school building. For this purpose, three workshop weeks were held with eight to twelve youths each. Initially, in a jury session, three models were shortlisted from the model works which were later on put into more precise terms. In a further session of the jury, one work of art was chosen which was then implemented by a metal processing company.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

The challenge in this project was to rouse enthusiasm among my workshop participants and sensitise them to the dimension and seriousness of the project. Explaining the individual steps of the process in the right words to a counterpart requires an additional review of what is purely an intuition. Many subconscious actions in one’s own creative work thus enter one’s consciousness since one has to explain them again and again to the participants. In this project, I have learnt a lot about the need for communication with those involved who are responsible.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Robert Krainhöfner

Robert Krainhöfner

© Tina Peissker

Robert Krainhöfner (*1967), geboren in Jena, ist gelernter Werkzeugmacher und Holzbildhauer. Bis 1999 studierte er  Bildhauerei bei Prof. Christian Höpfner an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg. Nach einem Gastsemester „Freie Kunst“ an der Bauhaus-Universität in Weimar, absolvierte er einen Aufbaustudiengang für „Kunst im öffentlichen Raum“ bei Prof. Johannes Peter Hölzinger, ebenfalls in Nürnberg. Seit 2001 arbeitet Krainhöfner als freischaffender Künstler, stellt aus und beteiligte sich an zahlreichen Wettbewerben. Er erhielt bereits mehrere Stipendien. Parallel dazu arbeitete er von 2001 bis 2006 als Honorarlehrer an der Freien Waldorfschule Jena. Seit 2006 arbeit er in der Kulturellen Bildung an verschiedenen, meist reformpädagogischen Schulen sowie in Einrichtungen für Erwachsenenbildung, in den vergangen Jahren auch viel über das Kulturagentenprogramm.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Der Ausgangspunkt für meine Arbeiten sind immer wieder einfache geometrische Formen – der Kreis, das Quadrat und das Band –, die sich offensichtlich einem Veränderungsprozess unterziehen. Diese elementaren Formen werden nach vorher bestimmten Regeln gefaltet oder zerschnitten und neu zusammengesetzt. Bei meinen Untersuchungen steht eine Neugier im Vordergrund, die das lebendige und nicht sichtbare Wesen der Geometrie zeigen möchte. Es entstehen Falträume, die sich mit phantasievoller Aufmerksamkeit in ihre ursprüngliche Lage zurückverfolgen lassen. Man wird herausgefordert, genau hinzuschauen und die spielerischen Zusammenhänge von Fläche und Raum zu verstehen. Ich verstehe sie als „Visuelle Klänge“.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

In meinen Workshops und Projekten möchte ich den Kunstunterricht Praxisbetonter gestalten beziehungsweise eine Atelierstimmung erzeugen, die so im klassischen Schulbetrieb nur selten zu erreichen ist. Beim gemeinsamen Arbeiten und Ringen um eine gute Lösung entstehen unmittelbar wichtige Fragen, die aus der jeweiligen Situation heraus direkt besprochen werden können. Das Ernstnehmen dieser Fragen macht Mut und lässt die Teilnehmenden größer denken. Gerade Außenseiter können so lernen, ihren Fokus auf bestimmte Themen zu richten. Generell geht es darum, die Leidenschaft und Zuversicht für den kreativen Prozess zu entfachen.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Ich möchte bei meinen künstlerischen Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung den Rahmen des bisher Möglichen sprengen und die Sicht auf den Stellenwert der Kunst neu schärfen. Als erstes natürlich bei den Schüler:innen, aber ebenso bei den Lehrer:innen und Eltern. Es sind die Erfahrungen über den Schulalltag hinaus, welche die Schüler:innen aus ihrer Komfortzone heraustreten lassen und damit etwas Tieferes offenbaren. So möchte ich bleibende Erfahrungen hinterlassen, die im Normalablauf unseres Bildungssystems nur selten zu erfahren sind.

 

Walter Gropius: Werkstattwochen

© Robert Krainhöfner

Anlässlich des 100-jährigen Bauhausjubiläums entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit der Walter-Gropius-Schule in Erfurt die Idee, eine Skulptur mit den Schüler:innen zu entwickeln, die dem künstlerischen Anspruch des Namensgebers der Schule, Walter-Gropius, gerecht wird, und am Ende auch vor dem Schulgebäude realisiert werden kann. Dazu fanden drei Workshop-Wochen mit jeweils acht bis 12 Jugendlichen statt. Aus den entstandenen Modellarbeiten wurden zunächst in einer Jurysitzung drei Modelle in die engere Auswahl gezogen und diese danach weiter präzisiert. In einer weiteren Jurysitzung wurde eine Arbeit ausgewählt, die dann von einer Metallfirma umgesetzt wurde.

Was haben aus diesem Projekt für ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Die Herausforderung bei diesem Projekt war, meine Workshop-Teilnehmer:innen für die Dimension und Ernsthaftigkeit des Projekts zu begeistern und zu sensibilisieren. Die einzelnen Schritte des Prozesses in Worte zu fassen und einem Gegenüber zu erklären, erfordert ein zusätzliches Überprüfen einer bloßen Intuition. Viele unbewusste Handlungen der eigenen kreativen Arbeit gelangen so in das Bewusstsein, da man sie immer wieder den Kursteilnehmer:innen erläutert. Bei diesem Projekt habe ich viel über die Notwendigkeit der Kommunikation mit den beteiligten Verantwortlichen gelernt.