Language:

Home » Fellows » Karima Klasen

Karima Klasen

© Wolfgang Folmer

Karima Klasen works as an artist in Stuttgart and researches the medium of painting in an extended field. She received her Bachelor of Arts degree in Interdisciplinary Design at the University of Applied Design Sciences in Schwäbisch Hall in 2006, and her Master of Fine Arts at Boston University (USA) in 2008. From 2006 to 2009, Klasen was in Boston, New York and Santa Fe (USA) as a Fulbright Fellow. Her work has been exhibited in America, Germany, Lithuania, Belgium, Portugal, Romania, Italy, Sweden, Norway and Austria.

Teaching assignments in the field of the foundations of design as well as the fields of colour, space, material and perception have given her a wealth of experience with artistic interventions in cultural education. Her teaching philosophy centres on a contemporary, discourse approach and public spaces.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

To describe my work in just three words, it’s SPACE AS CANVAS. Here, I view physical space as a canvas and an active field of action. Painting in an expanded field is the object of my artistic research in theory and practice. A contextual and conceptual approach opens up new levels of meaning and perception in the development, generation and perception of the works of art. Through projects and concepts, I explore an extended understanding of art and illustration. The extended image is the result of processes which are based on experiences in space. My artistic process is open and unbiased. Again and again, making references to the respective different situational conditions creates a work of art which can never be fully determined in advance.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

I open up spaces. Art and communicating art reflect processes going back to experiences in spaces. Not only are physical, temporal, spatial or object-related links formed in interaction with our environment. The process also involves communication, encountering, intervention and participation. Only in active participation are experiential spaces, and hence dialogical fields of action, opened up. My emphasis is on these fields, which today are the hybrid, dynamic forms of expressing a contemporary understanding of the visual arts and vibrant, transdisciplinary teaching practice. Here, departments are linked at interdisciplinary level, transitions and boundaries are fluid, and teaching and artistic practice go hand in hand.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

Artistic interventions are art in a context which develop via the application of situational knowledge based on testing, experience and experimenting. The extended image comprises the recipient and the producer in the respective situation. This is illustrated by the various levels of perception and action in my practical work and in my teaching philosophy /project conception. I design concepts for a specific context, addressing the concrete requirement and the individual issues involved. My aim is to adapt the design of educational concepts to the respective demands in imparting art and to run projects which mean new experiences and additional knowledge for all participants.

Pixelation Space Invasion, 2019

© Wolfgang Folmer

In the 1970s, the subway for pedestrians and cyclists was clad with green-brown tiles and was subsequently viewed as a “no-go area” in the district. Having already designed a major mural painting for the school playground of a higher secondary school in Göppingen in 2017, I was invited to work out a new concept for the subway considering the wishes of the school pupil and parent community. The original tile structure offered an ideal screen for painting. The brown and dark ambient was lightened up by applying white dispersion. Pixel objects in arrow structures were drawn hard-edge-style on the existing grid of grout strips between the tiles and coloured with neon paint. The arrows point in both directions and visualise the movement of through traffic. The concept was realised with 27 higher secondary school upper grade students in three days.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

My artistic approach enables me to design projects which open themselves up to others and become viable with their participation.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Karima Klasen

Karima Klasen

© Wolfgang Folmer

Karima Klasen arbeitet als Künstlerin in Stuttgart und erforscht das Medium der Malerei im erweiterten Feld. Den Bachelor of Arts in interdisziplinärer Gestaltung erhielt sie im Jahr 2006 an der Fachhochschule für Gestaltung in Schwäbisch Hall, den Master of Fine Arts im Jahr 2008 an der Boston University (USA). Von 2006 bis 2009 lebte Klasen als Fulbright-Stipendiatin in Boston, New York und Santa Fe (USA). Ihre Arbeiten wurden in Amerika, Deutschland, Litauen, Belgien, Portugal, Rumänien, Italien, Schweden, Norwegen und Österreich ausgestellt.

Durch Lehraufträge im Bereich der Grundlagen der Gestaltung und den Feldern Farbe, Raum, Material und Wahrnehmung sind ihre Erfahrungen mit künstlerischen Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung weitreichend. Im Zentrum ihrer Lehrphilosophie stehen ein zeitgenössischer, diskursiver Ansatz und der öffentliche Raum.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Meine Arbeit in drei Worten erklärt: SPACE AS CANVAS. Dabei fasse ich den physischen Raum als Leinwand und aktives Handlungsfeld. Malerei im erweiterten Feld ist Gegenstand meiner künstlerischen Forschung in Theorie und Praxis. Ein kontextueller und konzeptueller Ansatz eröffnet neue Bedeutungs- und Wahrnehmungsebenen in der Entwicklung, Erzeugung und Perzeption der Werke. Ich erkunde durch Projekte und Konzepte ein erweitertes Kunst- und Bildverständnis. Das erweiterte Bild geht aus Prozessen hervor, die auf Erfahrungen im Raum zurückgehen. Mein künstlerischer Prozess ist ergebnisoffen. Die Bezugnahme auf die jeweils unterschiedlichen situativen Bedingungen schafft immer wieder aufs Neue ein Werk, das vorab nie vollständig zu bestimmen ist.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Ich öffne Räume. Kunst und deren Vermittlung bildet Prozesse ab, die auf Erfahrungen im Raum zurückgehen. In der Interaktion mit unserer Umwelt werden nicht nur körperliche, zeitliche, räumliche oder objektbezogene Verbindungen hergestellt, es geht um Kommunikation, Begegnung, Intervention und Partizipation. Nur in der aktiven Teilhabe eröffnen sich Erfahrungsräume und dadurch dialogische Handlungsfelder. Um diese Felder, die heute hybriden, dynamischen Ausdrucksformen eines zeitgenössischen Verständnisses von Bildender Kunst und einer lebendigen, transdisziplinären Lehrpraxis, geht es mir. Hierbei sind Fachbereiche interdisziplinär verknüpft, Übergänge und Grenzen fließend, Lehre und künstlerische Praxis gehen Hand in Hand.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Künstlerische Interventionen sind Kunst im Kontext, die in der Anwendung von situativem Wissen aus Erprobung, Erfahrung und Experiment entstehen. Das erweiterte Bild umfasst den Rezipienten und den Produzenten in der jeweiligen Situation. Dies veranschaulichen die verschiedenen Ebenen von Wahrnehmung und Aktion in meiner Praxis und in meiner Lehrphilosophie/Projektkonzeption. Ich entwerfe Konzepte für einen spezifischen Kontext und beziehe mich dabei auf den konkreten Bedarf und auf die individuellen Fragestellungen. Mein Ziel ist es, in der Kunstvermittlung den Entwurf von Bildungskonzepten den jeweiligen Anforderungen anzupassen und Projekte durchzuführen, die für alle Beteiligten neue Erfahrungen und einen Wissenszuwachs bedeuten.

 Pixelation Space Invasion, 2019

© Wolfgang Folmer

Die Fußgänger- und Fahrradunterführung wurde in den 1970er-Jahren mit grün-braunen Fliesen getäfelt und galt seither als „Un“-Ort der Umgebung. Nachdem ich im Jahr 2017 bereits ein großes Wandgemälde für den Schulhof eines Gymnasiums in Göppingen entwarf, wurde ich eingeladen, unter Einbeziehung der Wünsche der Schüler-/Lehrerschaft für die Unterführung ein neues Konzept zu erarbeiten. Die ursprüngliche Fliesenstruktur bot ein ideales Zeichenraster. Das braune und dunkle Ambiente wurde durch Überstreichen mit weißer Dispersion aufgehellt. Auf dem vorhandenen Raster der Fugen wurden Pixelobjekte in Pfeilstrukturen im Hard-Edge-Stil gezeichnet und mit Neonfarbe koloriert. Die Pfeile weisen in beide Richtungen und visualisieren die Bewegungen des Durchgangsverkehrs. Die Arbeit wurde in drei Tagen mit 27 Schüler:innen der gymnasialen Oberstufe realisiert.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Mein künstlerischer Ansatz befähigt mich, Projekte zu konzipieren, die sich für andere öffnen und mit deren Partizipation möglich sind.