Language:

Home » Fellows » Alexandar Hadjiev

Alexandar Hadjiev

© Julian Paul

Alexandar Hadjiev was born in in Sofia, Bulgaria, in 1987. He studied the bassoon at the Music Gymnasium L. Pipkov in Sofia and at the Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen. From 2011 to 2012, he was a Fellow of the “Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie e. V.” (IEMA) in Frankfurt am Main. He is a member of the “MAM. Manufaktur für aktuelle Musik” and a Visiting Musician with the Ensemble Modern. As a composer and performer, Hadjiev is working actively in the field of interdisciplinary performance. In 2014, he founded the Festival 180° – Laboratory for Innovative Art in Sofia, which concentrates on the process of interdisciplinary cooperation between international artists. Hadjiev is actively engaged in the field of cultural education, which has a strong influence on his work as an artist.

www.a-hadjiev.com
www.180-degrees.org

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

One recurrent aspect of my work as an artist is “patience”. Over the past 20 years, technology has seen profound developments. Within a matter of seconds, we receive information based on algorithms, which means we need not do so much thinking anymore. For example, there are mathematical calculations determining how music is supposed to sound or what the contents of a film should be. We activate our brains too little and become impatient as soon as we have to think things out for ourselves and find answers to questions. In my work, I try to give the audience much room to rouse their information and motivate them to make a description of their own.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

The new generation have a lot to offer, and we ought to take advantage of the opportunity to get to know them. As an artist, my focus is on collaborations and interdisciplinary exchange, and this is how I can also describe the process with young people. We meet up to experiment and share ideas, without actually “learning” anything. As an artist, it is up to me to recognise where an artistic potential lies hidden, and to develop it together with individuals. Very often, the topics of my artistic work and the projects of the youths overlap. I feel that this is very valuable, because it can open up far more perspectives for us. Such processes also promote the self-awareness and creativity of pupils.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

History has taught us that art is one of the most important elements in the development of a society. Although nowadays, it is an area which we devote our recreational time to, art surrounds us subconsciously; it can be found everywhere, in every profession and every subject area. Art develops our way of thinking and supports our personal development. I am also convinced that encountering art brings our society more together.

KreativLabor (creative laboratory) 

© Alexandar Hadjiev

The “KreativLabor” (creative laboratory) is an interdisciplinary cultural project at Charles Hallgarten School in Frankfurt am Main. Five artists from the fields of the fine arts, music, literature, drama and dancing work at an interdisciplinary level with special needs pupils of classes five and six on an annual topic for one school-day a week. The topic is chosen according to the focal interests of the pupils. The aim is to integrate everyone in the project and ultimately present the results to a school audience (pupils, teachers and parents).

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

I learn something new in the KreativLabor every week. The pupils show me music, apps, videos and, most important of all, they communicate their opinion of the world to me. We have exciting discussions which really move me. The topics we discuss turn up again and again in my artistic work, which they highly inspire.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Alexandar Hadjiev

Alexandar Hadjiev

© Julian Paul

Alexandar Hadjiev wurde 1987 in Sofia, Bulgarien geboren. Er studierte Fagott am Musikgymnasium L. Pipkov in Sofia und an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen. Von 2011 bis 2012 war er Stipendiat der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie e. V. in Frankfurt am Main. Er ist Mitglied der MAM. Manufaktur für aktuelle Musik und Gast-Musiker bei dem Ensemble Modern. Als Komponist und Performer arbeitet Hadjiev aktiv im Bereich der interdisziplinären Performance. Im Jahr 2014 gründete er das Festivals „180° – Labor für innovative Kunst“ in Sofia, das sich auf den Prozess der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit zwischen internationalen Künstlern konzentriert. Hadjiev arbeitet aktiv im Bereich der Kulturellen Bildung, von der seine künstlerische Arbeit stark beeinflusst ist.

https://a-hadjiev.com/ 

www.180-degrees.org

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Ein immer wiederkehrendes Thema bei meiner künstlerischen Arbeit ist „Geduld“. In den vergangenen 20 Jahren hat sich die Technologie sehr stark entwickelt. Innerhalb von wenigen Sekunden erhalten wir Information, basierend auf Algorithmen, und müssen dadurch nicht mehr so viel denken. Beispielsweise gibt es mathematische Berechnungen, die besagen, wie Musik klingen oder was der Inhalt eines Films sein sollte. Wir aktivieren unser Gehirn zu wenig und werden ungeduldig, wenn wir selbst nachdenken und Antworten auf Fragen finden müssen. In meiner Arbeit probiere ich, den Zuschauer:innen/Zuhörer:innen viel Raum zu geben, um deren Imagination zu aktivieren und sie zu einer eigenen Beschreibung zu motivieren.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Die neue Generation hat viel zu bieten und wir sollten die Gelegenheit nutzen, sie kennenzulernen. Als Künstler liegt mein Fokus auf Kollaborationen und interdisziplinärem Austausch, und so kann ich den Prozess mit jungen Menschen auch beschreiben. Wir treffen uns, um zu experimentieren und Ideen auszutauschen, ohne etwas zu „lernen“. Als Künstler ist es meine Aufgabe zu erkennen, wo sich ein künstlerisches Potenzial versteckt, und dieses gemeinsam weiterzuentwickeln. Sehr oft überschneiden sich die Themen meiner künstlerischen Arbeiten und der Projekte mit Jugendlichen. Ich empfinde das als sehr wertvoll, weil sich uns so viel mehr Sichtweisen eröffnen können. Außerdem fördern solche Prozesse das Selbstbewusstsein und die Kreativität der Schüler:innen.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Die Geschichte hat bewiesen, dass Kunst eines der wichtigsten Elemente für die Entwicklung einer Gesellschaft ist. Obwohl sie heute ein Bereich ist, dem wir uns in unserer Freizeit widmen, umgibt uns die Kunst unbewusst; sie ist überall, in jedem Beruf und jedem Fachgebiet zu finden. Kunst entwickelt unser Denken und unterstützt unsere persönliche Entwicklung. Außerdem bin ich davon überzeugt, dass eine Konfrontation mit Kunst unsere Gesellschaft näher zusammenbringen wird.

KreativLabor 

© Alexandar Hadjiev

Das „KreativLabor“ ist ein interdisziplinäres Kulturprojekt an der Charles-Hallgarten-Schule in Frankfurt am Main. Fünf Künstler:innen aus den Sparten Bildende Kunst, Musik, Literatur, Schauspiel und Tanz arbeiten über ein Schuljahr an einem Schultag pro Woche, mit Förderschüler:innen der Klassen fünf und sechs interdisziplinär an einem Jahresthema zusammen. Das Thema wird nach den Interessenschwerpunkten der Schüler:innen ausgewählt. Ziel ist es, jede und jeden in das Projekt einzubinden, und am Ende die Ergebnisse einer Schulöffentlichkeit (Schüler:innen, Lehrer:innen und Eltern) zu präsentieren.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Im KreativLabor lerne ich jede Woche etwas Neues. Die Schüler:innen zeigen mir neue Musik, Apps, Videos, aber am wichtigsten ist, dass sie mir ihre Meinung von der Welt mitteilen. Wir haben spannende Diskussionen, die mich sehr bewegen. Die Themen, die wir diskutieren, tauchen immer wieder in meiner künstlerischen Arbeit auf, die stark davon inspiriert ist.