Language:

Home » Fellows » Olga Feger

Olga Feger

© privat

Olga Feger is an actress who has received several awards for her intercultural productions. After her studies in Berlin and Paris, acting jobs brought her to the Maxim Gorki Theatre Berlin and the “Staatsschauspiel Dresden”. Here, in addition to her work as an actress, the first stage plays developed under her directorship, and have also been followed since 2014 by dancing and theatre productions with people with and without experience as refugees at the “Festspielhaus Hellerau” – European Centre for the Arts, Dresden. Feger started the Café International and established the “Montagscafé” of the “Staatsschauspiel” as a Federally-renowned cultural centre for refugees. Her productions were distinguished with the “Starter-Engagement” Prize of the German Academic Scholarship Foundation and nominated for further prizes. Since 2020, Feger has been initiating African-European cooperation schemes for dancing and drama.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

My work as an artist usually deals with socio-politically relevant topics. My latest activity addressed power, power structures and handling any type of otherness, as well as the issue of what we ourselves refer to as “normal”, and how absurd this can appear to be from another perspective.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

Cultural education activities open different doors for each individual. Doors to oneself, to handling oneself, others and society. With my cultural education activity, I seek to encourage people to open up new spaces for themselves and others and try themselves out in them. I want to create a place in which one can deal with a wide range of questions, shift perspectives and further develop as an individual.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

To me, an artistic intervention in education features a creative moment. Empowering oneself, developing one’s own creative skills and effecting a self-defined transformation process. I regard artistic intervention as a moment of freedom in which I can newly discover and position myself in relation to myself, the other and the world.

Im&ExportMoves

© Peter R. Fiebig

Im&ExportMoves is a transcultural theatre and dancing project. With the aid of drama and contemporary West African dancing elements, it creates a space of intercultural encounter and exchange between people with a wide range of origins. For seven months, the participants examined societal and inter-human topics in an interdisciplinary context and developed a play which they presented at the “Festspielhaus Hellerau” – European Centre for the Arts, Dresden. Im&ExportMoves is a cooperation scheme between the “Festspielhaus Hellerau, Dresden” and the “Verein Afropa e. V.” which was developed and is directed by Olga Feger. For this production, she brought together an international team of directors consisting of artists some of whom had a migration history or experience as a refugee of their own.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

This work showed me even more clearly how important it is to create and maintain a protected space as a basis for a creative process – and just how much more exciting live acting is in comparison to artisanal perfection. The interdisciplinary fusion of dancing, drama and music as well as the different ways of working in the international team were also very fulfilling for my work as an artist.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Olga Feger

Olga Feger

© Privat

Olga Feger ist Schauspielerin, sie wurde vielfach für ihre interkulturellen Produktionen ausgezeichnet. Nach ihrem Studium in Berlin und Paris führten sie Engagements ans Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin und ans Staatsschauspiel Dresden. Neben ihrer Arbeit als Schauspielerin entstanden hier unter ihrer Leitung erste Stücke, seit 2014 auch Tanz-und Theaterproduktionen mit Menschen mit und ohne Fluchterfahrung am Festspielhaus Hellerau – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste, Dresden. Feger gründete das Café International und etablierte das Montagscafé des Staatsschauspiels als bundesweit renommiertes Kulturzentrum für Geflüchtete. Ihre Produktionen wurden mit dem Starter-Engagementpreis der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes ausgezeichnet und für weitere Preise nominiert. Seit 2020 initiiert Feger afrikanisch-europäische Kooperationen für Tanz- und Theater.

Welches Thema taucht in ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Ich beschäftige mich in meinen künstlerischen Arbeiten meistens mit gesellschaftspolitisch relevanten Fragen. In meinen letzten Arbeiten ging es um Macht, Machtstrukturen und den Umgang mit jedweder Andersartigkeit, und um die Frage, was wir selbst als „normal“ bezeichnen, und wie absurd dies aus einer anderen Perspektive erscheinen kann.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Kulturelle Bildungsarbeit eröffnet für jeden einzelnen Menschen andere, neue Türen. Türen zu sich selbst, zum Umgang mit sich selbst, dem anderen und der Gesellschaft. Mit meiner kulturellen Bildungsarbeit möchte ich Menschen dazu ermutigen, sich selbst und anderen neue Räume zu eröffnen und sich darin auszuprobieren. Ich möchte einen Ort schaffen, an dem man sich mit diversen Fragen auseinandersetzen, Perspektiven verändern und sich selbst erweitern kann.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung zeichnet sich für mich durch das kreative Moment aus. Sich selbst zu ermächtigen, seine eigenen schöpferischen Fähigkeiten zu entwickeln und selbstbestimmt einen Transformationsprozess zu bewirken. Die künstlerische Intervention sehe ich als ein Freiheitsmoment, in dem ich mich neu in Bezug zu mir selbst, dem anderen und der Welt entdecken und positionieren kann.

 

Im&ExportMoves

© Peter R. Fiebig

Im&ExportMoves ist ein transkulturelles Theater und Tanzprojekt. Mit Mitteln aus Theater und zeitgenössischem westafrikanischem Tanz schafft es einen Raum der interkulturellen Begegnung und des Austauschs zwischen Menschen unterschiedlichster Herkunft. Die Teilnehmenden setzten sich sieben Monate lang interdisziplinär mit gesellschaftlichen und zwischenmenschlichen Themen auseinander und entwickelten ein Stück, das sie am Festspielhaus Hellerau – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste zur Premiere brachten. Im&ExportMoves ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Festspielhaus Hellerau, Dresden und dem Verein Afropa e. V., entwickelt und geleitet von Olga Feger. Sie stellte für diese Produktion ein internationales künstlerisches Leitungsteam zusammen, bestehend aus Künstler:innen mit teilweise eigener Migrationsgeschichte oder Fluchterfahrung.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Mir ist durch diese Arbeit noch einmal bewusster geworden, wie wichtig es ist, einen geschützten Raum zu schaffen und zu halten als Basis für einen schöpferischen Prozess – und um wie viel spannender lebendiges Spiel ist im Vergleich zu handwerklicher Perfektion. Auch die interdisziplinäre Fusion von Tanz, Schauspiel und Musik sowie die unterschiedlichen Arbeitsweisen des internationalen Teams waren eine große Bereicherung für meine künstlerische Arbeit.