Language:

Home » Fellows » Rebekka Böhme

Rebekka Böhme

© Timo Cosmic

Rebekka E. Böhme has been working as a freelance dancer and choreographer with artists in various fields as well as with choreographers and companies in the fields, among others, of dancing, drama, audio-visual performance (Volksbühne Berlin, performing group, Alexrandra Rauh and others). She creates her own dance performances which can be viewed not only in classic stage settings but also as experimental dancing films which are also presented internationally. In addition, Böhme teaches contemporary dancing, bungee dancing and various circus disciplines – and regularly develops artistic activities with children and youths. She is involved in several cultural education projects, draws up concepts for “Kulturtage” (cultural event days) and “Trash Dance Contests”, and coordinates a wide range of events.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

My artistic work often focuses on perceiving and experiencing. I am interested in what attitudes emotions or, also, misunderstandings subjective impressions and experiences can stimulate and how internal conditions move us to form and change our body. I want to know what is concealed behind what is visible. The aim of my work is create understanding and dispel appraisals and stigmatisations which a perception of “weird” modes of behaviour and seeming otherness can lead to.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

I would like to enable people to adopt a creative approach to various topics and encourage them to consciously perceive the environment, change their perspectives and discover something new. My work focuses on exploring one’s own thoughts and creativity, as well as on identifying individual peculiarities and facets of movement or other abilities. For me, it is important to create an environment in which understanding and participating as well as learning from one another is possible across boundaries in order to promote self-confidence and respectful action.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

To me, artistic intervention in cultural education is an attempt to shift notions and an invitation to (re-) discover or (re-) interpret the environment with the aid of aesthetic means and designing methods which are above all made accessible and understandable. The artistic experience brought about by one’s own creative experimenting promotes personal development, strengthens self-confidence and motivates individuals to take on challenges more open-mindedly.

Circus and language, 2016

© Matthias Steinbach

In 2016, in cooperation with the German Children and Youth Foundation and Circus Cabuwazi (Project Beyond Borders), I developed a circus language promotion project for children from refugee families which imparts language in a playful manner centring on physical motion. The ten-day format aims at boosting both community and individuality, and provides the opportunity to learn and use the German language in an unbiased way. The children’s habitat is turned into a colourful space for development in which they can try out various circus disciplines, make circus props, explore words and their meanings in an artistic way and prepare a circus show together.

 

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

Working with language and abstraction has often been part of my research on motion or a method to experiment with motion qualities and rhythms. Trying things out and playing with children gives me new ideas and refreshes my perception of my own practices. In the project weeks, I often worked with clownesque exercises and noticed how they became drivers of de-escalation and promoted mutual awareness and understanding. Tangible artistic energy in a project is taken on further, and new, creative impulses emerge.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Rebekka Böhme

Rebekka Böhme

© Timo Cosmic

Rebekka E. Böhme arbeitet seit 2007 als freischaffende Tänzerin und Choreografin mit Künstler:innen verschiedener Sparten sowie mit Choreograf:innen und Kompanien in den Bereichen Tanz, Theater, audio-visuelle Performance u. a. (Volksbühne Berlin, performing group, Alexrandra Rauh u. a.). Sie kreiert eigene Tanzstücke, die nicht nur in klassischen Bühnenräumen zu sehen sind, sowie experimentelle Tanzfilme, die auch international gezeigt werden. Zudem unterrichtet Böhme zeitgenössischen Tanz, Bungee-Tanz sowie verschiedene Zirkusdisziplinen – und entwickelt regelmäßig künstlerische Arbeiten mit Kindern und Jugendlichen. Sie engagiert sich in mehreren kulturellen Bildungsprojekten, konzipiert „Kulturtage“, „Trash Dance Contests“ und koordiniert diverse Veranstaltungen.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

In meiner künstlerischen Arbeit geht es oft um Wahrnehmung und Erleben. Mich interessiert, welche Haltungen, Emotionen oder auch Missverständnisse subjektive Eindrücke und Erfahrungen auslösen können und wie innere Zustände uns bewegen, den Körper formen und verändern. Ich möchte wissen, was hinter dem Sichtbaren verborgen ist. Ziel meiner Arbeit ist es, Verständnis zu schaffen und Bewertung sowie Stigmatisierung aufzulösen, die eine Wahrnehmung von „seltsamen“ Verhaltensweisen und vermeintlicher Andersartigkeit mit sich bringen können.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Ich möchte Menschen einen kreativen Zugang zu unterschiedlichen Themen ermöglichen und sie dazu animieren, die Umwelt bewusst wahrzunehmen, Blickwinkel zu wechseln und etwas Neues zu entdecken. Im Fokus meiner Arbeit stehen das Erforschen der eigenen Gedanken und Kreativität sowie das Herausarbeiten individueller Besonderheiten und Facetten der Bewegung oder anderer Fähigkeiten. Es ist mir wichtig, einen Raum zu schaffen, in welchem Verständnis und Teilhabe über Grenzen hinweg sowie das voneinander Lernen möglich ist, um Selbstvertrauen und respektvolles Handeln zu fördern.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Für mich ist die künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung ein Versuch des Verrückens von Vorstellungen und die Einladung zum (Neu-)Entdecken oder (Neu-)Interpretieren der Umwelt mithilfe ästhetischer Mittel und gestalterischer Methoden, die vor allem zugänglich und verständlich gemacht werden. Das künstlerische Erlebnis, durch das eigene, kreative Experimentieren, fördert die persönliche Entwicklung, stärkt das Selbstbewusstsein und motiviert, Herausforderungen mit mehr Offenheit zu begegnen.

Zirkus und Sprache, 2016

© Matthias Steinbach

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Kinder- und Jugendstiftung und dem Zirkus Cabuwazi (Projekt Beyond Borders) entwickelte ich 2016 ein zirzensisches Sprachförderungsprojekt für Kinder aus geflüchteten Familien, welches Sprache spielerisch und bewegungsorientiert vermittelt. Das zehntägige Format soll Gemeinschaft, aber auch Individualität stärken sowie die Möglichkeit bieten, die deutsche Sprache unbefangen erlernen und anwenden zu können. Der Lebensraum der Kinder wird in einen bunten Entwicklungsraum verwandelt, in welchem sie verschiedene Zirkusdisziplinen ausprobieren können, Zirkusrequisiten basteln, sich künstlerisch mit Worten und ihrer Bedeutung auseinandersetzen und gemeinsam eine Zirkus-Show gestalten.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Die Arbeit mit Sprache und Abstraktion von Worten war oft Teil meiner Bewegungsrecherchen beziehungsweise Methode zum Experimentieren mit Bewegungsqualitäten und Rhythmen. Das Ausprobieren und Spielen mit Kindern bringt mich auf neue Ideen und erfrischt meinen Blick auf meine eigenen Praktiken. In den Projektwochen habe ich häufig mit pantomimischen und clownesken Übungen gearbeitet und festgestellt, wie diese zum Motor von Deeskalation wurden sowie Aufmerksamkeit und Verständnis untereinander schafften. Die erfahrbare, künstlerische Energie in einem Projekt entwickelt sich weiter und neue, kreative Impulse entstehen.