Language:

Home » Fellows » Emese Bodolay

Emese Bodolay

© Heike Kandalowski

Emese Bodolay (*1987, Budapest) studied drama and German language and literature at Ruhr University Bochum (RUB) as well as philosophy and media science at Eötvös Loránd University Budapest, finishing with a Bachelor degree (B. A). She completed her Master degree in the Master programme on Scenic Research, which focuses on theatre practice research. Together with the “Künstler:innenkollektiv Anna Kpok”, she develops scenic works in which the hierarchy between “viewers” and “producers” is again and again analysed and processed. Her interest centres on the time spent together and the commonly produced “product of art”. For this purpose, she engages in forming communities, common processes and meetings.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

In my activities with the Künstler:innenkollektiv, I look for artistic strategies and options for producers and recipients to encounter each other in a room and commonly enable something unplanned, something new, to develop.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

With young people, I seek to bring the process and the manner of working to the fore and thus commonly question results-oriented working.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

Working artistically enables an individual to address topics freely and find one’s own way to explore these topics. To me, bringing such openness into thought in cultural education is the artistic intervention.

New Cologne – how many megabyte?!

© privat

“New Cologne – how many megabyte?!” was a live jump and run which I realised together with eight youths (12 to 14 years) at the “Theater an der Parkaue” (Berlin) in the context of an Easter holiday workshop. I provided the framework for the play, which the participants had to fill under my supervision: together, we invented the world in which the play was performed and built the corresponding storyline. The participants were actively involved in creating the stage setting and developing the puzzles. In implementing the concept, they took turns performing the different roles.

 

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

Performing Playstation with young people and talking to them is more important than working out a perfect script on your own.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Emese Bodolay

Emese Bodolay

© Heike Kandalowski

Emese Bodolay (*1987, Budapest) studierte Theaterwissenschaft und Germanistik an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) sowie Philosophie und Medienwissenschaft an der Eötvös-Loránd-Universität Budapest (B.A.). Ihren Master absolvierte sie in dem theaterpraktisch forschenden Masterstudiengang Szenische Forschung. Gemeinsam mit dem Künstler:innenkollektiv Anna Kpok entwickelt sie szenische Arbeiten, in denen die Hierarchie zwischen „Zuschauer:innen“ und „Produzent:innen“ immer wieder neu hinterfragt und bearbeitet wird. Ihr Interesse gilt der gemeinsam verbrachten Zeit und dem gemeinsam produzierten „Kunstprodukt“. Hierfür arbeitet sie sich an der Bildung von Gemeinschaften, Gemeinschaftsprozessen und Begegnungen ab.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Ich suche in meinen Arbeiten mit dem Künstler:innenkollektiv nach künstlerischen Strategien und Möglichkeiten, wie sich die Produzent:innen und Rezipient:innen in einem Raum begegnen und gemeinsam etwas Ungeplantes, Neues entstehen lassen können.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Ich möchte mit jungen Menschen den Prozess und die Art des Arbeitens in den Vordergrund rücken und so gemeinsam das ergebnisorientierte Arbeiten hinterfragen.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Künstlerisch zu arbeiten ermöglicht es einem, Themen frei zu behandeln und einen eigenen Weg zu finden, sich diese Themen zu erschließen. Diese Offenheit in das Denken in der Kulturellen Bildung zu bringen ist für mich die künstlerische Intervention.

New Cologne – how many megabyte?!

© privat

„New Cologne – how many megabyte?!“ war ein Live Jump and Run, das ich gemeinsam mit acht Jugendlichen (12 bis 14 Jahre) am Theater an der Parkaue (Berlin) im Rahmen einer Osterferienwerkstatt realisiert habe. Von mir kam das Spielgerüst, das die Teilnehmer:innen unter meiner Anleitung füllen mussten: Gemeinsam erfanden wir die Welt, in der das Spiel spielte und bauten die passende Storyline. Die Teilnehmer:innen waren aktiv bei der Herstellung des Bühnenbilds und in die Entwicklung der Rätsel eingebunden. Bei der Umsetzung performten sie abwechselnd die verschiedenen Positionen.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Gemeinsam mit jungen Leuten Playstation zu spielen und zu sprechen ist wichtiger als sich alleine ein perfektes Skript zu überlegen.