Language:

Home » Fellows » Ammar Awaniy

Ammar Awaniy

© Viktoria-Lukina

Ammar Awaniy was born in the Syrian city of Homs in 1993. Having graduated from higher secondary education, he studied automation control and computer engineering in Homs, completing his studies with a Bachelor degree in 2015. In the same year, he fled to Germany, and has since been living in Magdeburg. He picked up the German language very quickly, and today, he writes and reads stories and novels, and also likes historical literature featuring Saxony-Anhalt. In addition to being an author, he actively engages in cross-media projects of the Magdeburg-Stendal University of Applied Sciences and the “Offener Kanal Magdeburg”. Furthermore, he is a Project Consultant for Literature and Intercultural Affairs at the Institute for Caucasia, Tataria and Turkestan Studies, reg. Ass. (ICATAT e. V.) and a Project Assistant at the “.lkj) – Landesvereinigung kulturelle Kinder- und Jugendbildung Sachsen-Anhalt e. V.”.

www.ammar-awaniy.de

https://paschamd.jimdo.com/

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

Since coming to Germany I have developed an interested in intercultural history between the Orient and Central Germany. Through multi-media cooperation and by using various cultural education methods, I am attempting to illustrate the diversity of Magdeburg and turn the “enemy stereotype of the other” into a stable bridge between long-time residents and new inhabitants. These efforts have already been put into practice in a number of projects. In this respect, the book project “Der Pascha von Magdeburg” (the Magdeburg pasha) is a very good example of such successful intercultural activity.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

I would like to create new perspectives for cooperation, engage in an active sharing of information, views on life and targets, integrate new cultural education methods in my project activities and pass on the insights which I have acquired, so that they have a lasting impact. I want to more actively strengthen the role of youth clubs in rural areas through regionally based intercultural activities and establish scope for creativity in which young people can develop their own talent in a multilingual and interdisciplinary framework.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

To me, strengthening the role of art in the context of cultural education appears to be an important aspect because this enables the formation of a creative environment which children and youths need to develop and consolidate their own personality in a special manner. For example, integrating music and drama can encourage the participants to expand their artistic and intercultural abilities and can get them out of what might be a bubble of exclusivity and into the group. With these creative means, they learn how to work together with others and contribute their individual skills to the collective effort.

Tracing one’s own tracks – creating new worlds

© Ammar Awaniy

Referring to Saxony-Anhalt’s long history of migration and integration, youths got together to develop four project pillars in transcultural cross-media education workshops. Each of these pillars related to a concrete project, one of which was my first book. Together with poets, layout designers, illustrators and publishers, .lkj) Sachsen-Anhalt and ICATAT e. V., the book “Die Fackel der Angst. Von Homs nach Magdeburg” (the torch of fear – from Homs to Magdeburg) was created, which I have been focusing on in workshops and readings since it was published.

The project was backed by its own blog, so that the youths were able to blog their own artistic results.

https://eigene-spuren-suchen.jimdofree.com

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

This experience made me more aware of the role which art in general has in developing young people’s personalities. Art and literature help them freely express their opinion and work together to achieve the goals they have set themselves. As an author, I have developed my own view of cultural education. My book project won’t be over when the book is published, for that is only the beginning of a journey which then goes on through discussions, workshops and creative thought.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Ammar Awaniy

Ammar Awaniy

© Viktoria-Lukina

Ammar Awaniy wurde im Jahr 1993 in der syrischen Stadt Homs geboren. Nach dem Abitur studierte er Automatisierungskontrolle und Computertechnik in Homs und schloss sein Studium im Jahr 2015 mit dem Bachelor ab. Im selben Jahr floh er nach Deutschland und lebt seitdem in Magdeburg. Er lernte die deutsche Sprache sehr schnell, heute schreibt und liest er Geschichten und Novellen, gern auch historische Literatur über Sachsen-Anhalt. Neben seiner Schriftstellertätigkeit ist er aktiv in Cross-Media-Projekten der Hochschule Magdeburg-Stendal und des Offenen Kanals Magdeburg. Außerdem arbeitet er als Projekt-Referent für Literatur und Interkultur am Institut für Caucasica-, Tatarica- und Turkestan-Studien e. V. und als Projektmitarbeiter bei der .lkj) – Landesvereinigung kulturelle Kinder- und Jugendbildung Sachsen-Anhalt e. V.

www.ammar-awaniy.de

https://paschamd.jimdo.com/ 

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Seit meiner Ankunft in Deutschland interessiere ich mich für die interkulturelle Geschichte zwischen dem Orient und Mitteldeutschland. Durch multimediale Zusammenarbeit und den Einsatz verschiedener Methoden der Kulturellen Bildung möchte ich die Vielfalt Magdeburgs zeigen und das „Feindbild des anderen“ in eine stabile Brücke zwischen Alteingesessenen und Neubürger:innen verwandeln. Diese Bemühungen wurden bisher durch viele Projekte realisiert. Das Buchprojekt „Der Pascha von Magdeburg“ ist in diesem Zusammenhang ein sehr gutes Beispiel für eine solche erfolgreiche interkulturelle Arbeit.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken? 

Ich möchte neue Perspektiven der Zusammenarbeit schaffen, einen aktiven Austausch von Informationen, Lebensansichten und Zielen betreiben, neue Methoden der Kulturellen Bildung in meine Projektarbeit integrieren und das erworbene Wissen nachhaltig weitergeben. Ich möchte die Rolle der Jugendclubs auf dem Land mittels regionalbasierter Interkulturarbeit aktiver stärken und Raum für Kreativität schaffen, in dem junge Menschen mehrsprachig und interdisziplinär ihre eigenen Talente entfalten können.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Die Stärkung der Rolle von Kunst im Rahmen der Kulturellen Bildung wäre mir wichtig, weil dadurch ein kreativer Raum geschaffen wird, den Kinder und Jugendliche brauchen, um ihre eigene Persönlichkeit auf besondere Weise zu gestalten und zu festigen. Die Einbindung von Musik und Theater beispielsweise kann die Teilnehmenden ermutigen, ihre künstlerischen und intellektuellen Fähigkeiten zu erweitern und sie aus einer etwaigen Blase der Exklusivität in die Gruppe zu bringen. Sie lernen anhand dieser kreativen Mittel, mit anderen zusammenzuarbeiten und die individuellen Fähigkeiten in die kollektive Arbeit zu integrieren.

Eigene Spuren suchen – Neue Welten gestalten

© Ammar Awaniy

Zu Sachsen-Anhalts langer Migrations- und Integrationsgeschichte entwickelten Jugendliche gemeinsam mittels transkultureller Cross-Media-Bildungswerkstätten vier Projekt-Säulen. Jede dieser Säulen zeitigte ein konkretes Produkt, wovon eines mein erstes Buch war. Zusammen mit Dichter:innen, Layouter:innen, Illustrator:innen und Verlagen, dem .lkj) Sachsen-Anhalt und dem ICATAT e. V. entstand das Buch „Die Fackel der Angst. Von Homs nach Magdeburg“, das ich seit seinem Erscheinen als Gegenstand von Workshops und Lesungen nutze.

Ein eigener Blog begleitete das Projekt, sodass die Jugendlichen ihre künstlerischen Ergebnisse selbst bloggen konnten.

https://eigene-spuren-suchen.jimdofree.com/

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Diese Erfahrung hat mir die Rolle der Kunst im Allgemeinen bei der Gestaltung der Persönlichkeiten junger Menschen bewusster gemacht. Kunst und Literatur helfen ihnen, ihre Meinung frei zu äußern und miteinander zu arbeiten, um die Ziele zu erreichen, die sie sich selbst setzen. Als Autor habe ich meinen eigenen Blick auf die Kulturelle Bildung entwickelt. Mein Buchprojekt endet nicht, wenn das Buch veröffentlicht ist, denn das ist nur der Anfang und die Reise geht weiter durch Diskussionen, Workshops und kreatives Denken.