Language:

Home » Speaker » Ellen Kobe

Ellen Kobe

© Falk Weiß

Ellen Kobe lives in Berlin and Potsdam, working as an artist and curator. After studying at Weißensee Academy of Art Berlin, she did a study residency at Villa Arson in Nice, received a DAAD scholarship and completed her fine arts studies with a diploma in Marseilles, France. Her focus is on interventions in public spaces and performances/videos on institutional critique, the operating system of art and the culture of the absent. Over the last few years, she has developed an approach of her own for this which thinks through performance from the angle of the absent and from the concept of the “defect”. She is interested in deconstructing social rituals, especially at the museum. With performances, she intervenes in existing structures, makes use of spaces, materials and objects which are already there, thus initiating a shift in perspective via minimal reinterpretations.

www.ellenkobe.de

 

What is your professional focus?

As a visual artist, I work on the topic of historical reception and realise interventions and performances in historic places. Maintaining a critical view of the museum-like claim of interpretational sovereignty in history and the present, I develop performances on the fine line between reality and fiction, during which I write myself into a “spatial narrative” with my biography.

In the latest performances, the question of identity has constituted itself as a new series of works in the field of tension created by the current social discourse on fake identities. As a fictive descendent, the relationship between me as an individual and the individual in the story in turn relates to the relationship between being and time. The boldness of this claim also reveals to observers how they relate to history in an exemplary manner. Here, the presence of the absent gains new visibility, allowing the questioning of the topicality of the past with various artistic formats.

 

What potentials do you see in the certificate course “Artistic Interventions in Cultural Education” for your specialist field?

I understand artistic intervention as a power to act in order to intervene in concrete spatial, social and political structures. I interpret space strategy in Beuys´ sense, as a power to act in the social space. The idea is to explore the more fundamental interrelations, from the tangent of women and migrant policy, which is currently strongly in the limelight, to get to the core, and discuss it on site, that is, to address the relationships of power and violence, German history and, first and foremost, the capital flows.

The pilot course seeks to identify the signatures of the new epoch, links up insights from the working world, politics, business and cultural history in order to challenge the feeling of being overwhelmed by the present we are experiencing.

 

Ellen Kobe at “Artistic Interventions in Cultural Education”

Ellen Kobe is taking part in the course framework as an artist with a performance in Module 1: “Potentials of art for cultural education processes”. If you have any queries or are interested in cooperating, you are welcome to contact zertifikatskurs [at] uni-hildesheim [dot] de

Sprache:

Home » Referent:innen » Ellen Kobe

Ellen Kobe

© Falk Weiß

Ellen Kobe lebt als Künstlerin und Kuratorin in Berlin und Potsdam. Nach dem Studium an der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin nahm sie eine Studienresidenz der Villa Arson in Nizza wahr, erhielt ein DAAD Stipendium und beendete das Studium der Bildenden Kunst mit dem Diplom in Marseille, Frankreich. Ihr Fokus liegt auf Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum, Performances/Videos zur Institutionskritik zum Betriebssystem Kunst und zur Kultur des Abwesenden. In den vergangenen Jahrzehnten hat sie dazu einen eigenständigen Ansatz entwickelt, der Performance vom Abwesenden her denkt und vom Begriff der „Fehlstelle“ ausgeht. Ihr Interesse liegt in der Dekonstruktion gesellschaftlicher Rituale, insbesondere im Museum. Mit Performances greift sie in bestehende Strukturen ein, nutzt bereits existierende Räume, Materialien und Objekte und initiiert dadurch Perspektivwechsel durch minimale Umdeutungen.

www.ellenkobe.de

 

 

 

Was ist Ihr beruflicher Schwerpunkt?

Als Bildende Künstlerin arbeite ich zum Thema Geschichtsrezeption und realisiere Interventionen und Performances an historischen Orten. Mit dem kritischen Blick auf die museale Behauptung von Deutungshoheiten in Historie und Gegenwart entwickle ich Performances auf dem Grat zwischen Realität und Fiktion, wobei ich mich mit meiner Biografie in eine „Raumerzählung“ einschreibe.

In den jüngsten Performances hat sich die Frage nach der Identität im Spannungsfeld des aktuellen, gesellschaftlichen Diskurses um Fake Identities zu einer neuen Werkreihe konstituiert. Als fiktive Nachfahrin ist die Bezogenheit meiner Person zu einer Person der Geschichte verwandt mit der Beziehung von Sein und Zeit. In der Kühnheit dieser Behauptung offenbart sich den Betrachtenden exemplarisch auch ihre Bezogenheit zur Geschichte. Die Anwesenheit des Abwesenden findet dabei neue Sichtbarkeit, die mit verschiedenen künstlerischen Formaten die Aktualität der Vergangenheit zu hinterfragen erlaubt.

 

Welche Potenziale sehen Sie in dem Zertifikatskurs „Künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung“ für Ihr Fachgebiet?

Ich begreife künstlerische Interventionen als Handlungsmacht, um in konkrete räumliche, soziale und politische Strukturen einzugreifen. Raumstrategie fasse ich im Beuys´schen Sinne auf, als Handlungsmacht im sozialen Raum. Es geht darum, die tieferen Zusammenhänge zu ergründen, von der aktuell beleuchteten Tangente der Frauen- und Flüchtlingspolitik zum Kern vorzustoßen und diese vor Ort zu verhandeln, also die Macht- und Gewaltverhältnisse, die deutsche Geschichte und zuvorderst: die Kapitalströme.

Der Pilotkurs fragt nach den Signaturen des neuen Zeitalters, verknüpft Erkenntnisse aus Arbeitswelt, Politik, Wirtschaft und Kulturgeschichte, um der gefühlten Überforderung dieser Gegenwart zu begegnen.

 

Ellen Kobe bei „Künstlerische Interventionen in der Kulturellen Bildung“

Ellen Kobe beteiligt sich im Rahmen des Kurses als Künstlerin mit einer Performance in Modul 1: „Potentiale der Künste für die Bildung“. Bei Fragen oder Interesse einer Zusammenarbeit wenden Sie sich gern an zertifikatskurs [at] uni-hildesheim [dot] de