Language:

Home » Fellows » Olek Witt – Questions

Fellows

Olek Witt – Questions

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

Following Joseph Beuys’ motto that “everyone is an artist”, I again and again concentrate on promoting the creative potential of children and youths. I apply Devising Theatre methods in developing performances. The central aspects are collective, collaborative and improvisational work and research addressing reality in society as well as respect for different life experiences and concepts. I use unconventional formats such as theatre parcours, which enable a wider audience in various social spaces to gain more direct access to art. To me, the focal aspect is to recognise visible and invisible boundaries, to question them, for theatre art is dialogue.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

I want to see to it that participation is strengthened, new, unconventional ways of gaining access to art beyond privileges based on origin or education are created and personal development as well as the self-responsibility of creative self-definition are enhanced. A democratic society is always a changing society. By applying theatre-pedagogical and performative methods, the development of creativeness and aesthetic education is promoted as a basis of cultural and political participation.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

It supports aesthetic sensitisation and the breaking open of everyday perception through discovering, researching and a manifestation of new perspectives. Furthermore, it contributes to consciously and actively designing changes in social spaces. It promotes recognising and questioning structures which impede necessary process of change, as well as temporary and spontaneous activities in public spaces and long-term strategies drawing attention to deficits, inequalities and discrimination while simultaneously aiming at positive changes and enabling participation with comprehensive inclusion.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Olek Witt – Fragen

Stipendiat:innen

Olek Witt – Fragen

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf? 

Entsprechend dem Motto „Jeder Mensch ist ein Künstler“ von Joseph Beuys, taucht bei mir immer wieder die Förderung von kreativen Potenzialen von Kindern und Jugendlichen auf. Ich wende Methoden des Devising Theatre bei der Entwicklung von Performances an. Zentral sind kollektives, kollaboratives und improvisatorisches Arbeiten und Erforschen der sozialen Wirklichkeit sowie der Respekt für unterschiedliche Lebenserfahrungen und Entwürfe. Ich wende unkonventionelle Formate wie Theaterparcours an, die einem breiteren Publikum in diversen sozialen Räumen einen direkteren Zugang zur Kunst ermöglichen. Es geht mir um das Erkennen von sichtbaren und unsichtbaren Grenzen, um sie zu hinterfragen, denn Theaterkunst ist Dialog.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken? 

Ich möchte bewirken, dass die Partizipation gestärkt wird, neue, unkonventionelle Zugängen zu Kunst jenseits von Privilegien aufgrund der Herkunft oder Bildung geschaffen werden, die persönliche Entwicklung sowie die Eigenverantwortung der kreativen Selbstbestimmung gestärkt werden. Eine demokratische Gesellschaft ist stets eine Gesellschaft im Wandel. Dieser Wandel braucht immer wieder neue individuelle und kollektive Gestaltungsfähigkeit. Durch die Anwendung von theaterpädagogischen und performativen Methoden wird die Entfaltung der Kreativität und der ästhetische Bildung als Basis für die kulturelle und politische Teilhabe gefördert.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus? 

Sie sorgt für eine ästhetische Sensibilisierung und Durchbrechung von Alltagswahrnehmung durch Entdeckung, Erforschung und Manifestation von neuen Perspektiven. Außerdem trägt sie dazu bei, Veränderungen in sozialen Räumen durch dialogische Prozesse bewusst und aktiv zu gestalten. Sie fördert das Erkennen und Infragestellen von Strukturen, die die notwendigen Veränderungsprozesse behindern, sowie temporäre und spontane Aktionen im öffentlichem Raum als auch langfristig angelegte Strategien, die auf Defizite, Ungleichheiten und Diskriminierung aufmerksam machen und zugleich auf positive Veränderungen zielen sowie eine Teilhabe mit einer umfassenden Inklusion ermöglichen.