Language:

Home » Fellows » Christophe Ndabananiye – Project

Fellows

Christophe Ndabananiye – Project

Shoes – personal versus impersonal, 2011

© Christophe Ndabananiye

In 2011, I presented some of my work in the Traces Exhibition at the Centre de Formation Refuge Icyugamo in Masaka. The installative piece “Shoes – personal versus impersonal”, which always causes irritation, could be viewed, as well as various series in glossy and acrylic paint, partly also involving collage techniques, on the topics of traces and routes.

In parallel to the exhibition, together with art historian Katja Vobiller, I organised a workshop for children which was aimed at teaching them the basics of design. Here too, the topic of “traces” was a common thread in the workshops, in which the children discovered their artistic talent and experimented with lead and colour pencils, paintbrushes and paintboxes, crayons and scissors. After the workshop, the children had the opportunity to present their works of art.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

For me, cultural education in the context of communicating with the children was an important experience, for here, as had been the case in my career as an artist up to then, the topic of identity played a major role.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Christophe Ndabananiye – Projekt

Stipendiat:innen

Christophe Ndabananiye – Projekt

Schuhe – persönlich versus unpersönlich, 2011

© Christophe Ndabananiye

Im Jahr 2011 habe ich einige meiner Arbeiten in der Ausstellung „Traces“ im Centre de Formation Refuge Icyugamo in Masaka gezeigt. Zu sehen waren die installative Arbeit „Schuhe – persönlich versus unpersönlich“, die stets für Irritation sorgt, außerdem verschiedene Serien aus Lack- und Acrylfarbe, zum Teil mit Collagentechnik, zu den Themen Spuren und Strecken.

Parallel zur Ausstellung habe ich gemeinsam mit der Kunsthistorikerin Katja Vobiller einen Workshop für Kinder gestaltet. Dieser hatte zum Ziel, den Kindern Grundlagen der Gestaltung beizubringen. Auch hier zog sich das Thema „Spuren“ wie ein roter Faden durch die Workshops. Bei diesen entdeckten die Kinder ihre künstlerische Begabung und experimentierten mit Blei- und Buntstiften, Pinsel und Farbkasten, Wachskreide und Schere. Im Anschluss an den Workshop hatten die Kinder die Möglichkeit, ihre Werke auszustellen.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Für mich war die Kulturelle Bildung beim Austausch mit den Kindern eine wichtige Erfahrung, denn das Thema Identität spielte hier – wie auch schon in meiner bisherigen künstlerischen Laufbahn – eine große Rolle.