Language:

Home » Fellows » Kristina Veit

Kristina Veit

© Michael Benthin

Kristina Veit acquired her diploma as a stage dancer at Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts. In 2005, after four years of theatre activity in Linz and St. Gallen, she started working as a freelancer with companies in Denmark, Spain and Uruguay. In 2009, Frankfurt am Main became her home base. In the same year, Veit founded “ID_Frankfurt e. V.”, followed in 2012 by “Z, Zentrum für Proben und Forschung” (centre for rehearsals and research). Since 2013, she has been creating her own works of art with the artists duo “ravvina/veit”. Since 2010, Veit has been working continuously in the field of aesthetic education at primary and secondary modern schools, integrated comprehensive schools and a special-needs school. In 2017/2018, she worked in the area of conception and running of further education measures for teachers at special needs schools in Bavaria which was funded by “Stiftung Kunst und Natur gGmbH”.

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

Over the last few years, in my work as an artist, I have particularly focused on the issue of space or the immediate environment, together with entering into a relation. Dealing with what is surrounding me in terms of architecture, objects or bodies.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

Ideally, I would like to see the participants acquire an extension of their possibilities to use their bodies and playfully and freely choose their form of expression. I want to inspire people to have the courage to come up with their own ideas and creative impulses and feel confident in having them, so that the threshold is lowered for them to become more inventive themselves and put their ideas into practice, expression, form and motion.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

For me, an artistic intervention in cultural education is first of all about an interruption. It is an opportunity to step out of what is familiar and possibly automated and gain experience which might be new, unfamiliar and different. One’s own field of experience is thus expanded.

X-Worlds

© Kristina Veit

One year long, for one day a week, five artists from music, dancing, the fine arts and drama and around 35 pupils of the fifth, sixth and seventh forms dealt with the topic of X-Worlds. In an orientation phase, everyone was familiarised with the disciplines and then had the opportunity to opt for one particular branch of art. In the following weeks, questions then arose regarding gravity and weightlessness. Which other physical laws could there be? What changes our perception? Is a shift in perspective enough to cause this? The project evolved into a performance for the school community, who travelled around the school building, discovering a wide range of different worlds.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

That the art process often starts with questions, and that they might not necessarily become fewer in the course of the process. While some questions may find an answer, others will have a force and strength forbidding them to ever be answered.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Kristina Veit

Kristina Veit

© Michael Benthin

Kristina Veit absolvierte ihr Diplom als Bühnentänzerin an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main. Nach vier Jahren Theaterengagements in Linz und St. Gallen begann sie 2005 freischaffend mit Kompanien in Dänemark, Spanien und Uruguay zu arbeiten. 2009 wurde Frankfurt am Main zu ihrer Homebase. Im selben Jahr gründete Veit ID_Frankfurt e. V., 2012 folgte das Z, Zentrum für Proben und Forschung. Seit 2013 kreiert sie ihre eigenen Arbeiten mit dem Künstlerinnen-Duo ravvina/veit. Veit arbeitet seit 2010 kontinuierlich im Bereich der ästhetischen Bildung in Grund- und Realschulen, Integrierten Gesamtschulen und einer Förderschule. 2017/2018 arbeitete sie im Bereich Konzeption und Durchführung in der Weiterbildung für Förderschullehrer:innen in Bayern, gefördert durch die Stiftung Kunst und Natur gGmbH.

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Die Frage nach dem Raum oder der unmittelbaren Umgebung, einhergehend mit einem sich in Beziehung setzen, beschäftigte mich in meiner künstlerischen Arbeit in den vergangenen Jahren. Die Verhandlung mit dem, was mich an Architektur, Objekten oder Körpern umgibt.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Im besten Fall erhoffe ich mir, dass die Teilnehmer:innen eine Erweiterung der Möglichkeiten erhalten, um den Körper einzusetzen und spielerisch ihre Ausdrucksformen frei zu wählen. Ich wünsche mir, dass ein Vertrauen in und der Mut zu eigenen Ideen und kreativen Impulsen geschaffen wird, sodass die Hemmschwelle sinkt, selbst erfinderischer zu werden und die Ideen in Tat, Ausdruck, Form und Bewegung umzusetzen.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung hat für mich zunächst mit einer Unterbrechung zu tun. Es ist eine Möglichkeit, aus dem Bekannten und eventuell Automatisierten herauszutreten und eine Erfahrung zu machen, die vielleicht neu, ungewohnt und anders ist. Das eigene Erfahrungsfeld wird dadurch erweitert.

X-Welten

© Kristina Veit

Ein Jahr lang, für einen Tag pro Woche, setzten sich fünf Künstler:innen aus Musik, Tanz, Bildender Kunst und Schauspiel und etwa 35 Schüler:innen der Jahrgangsstufen fünf, sechs und sieben mit dem Thema X-Welten auseinander. Es gab eine Orientierungsphase, in der alle die Disziplinen kennenlernten, um sich dann für eine Kunstsparte entscheiden zu können. So kamen in den folgenden Wochen Fragen zu Schwerkraft und Schwerelosigkeit auf. Welche Gesetzmäßigkeiten könnte es noch geben? Was verändert unsere Wahrnehmung? Wann sieht Bewegung befremdlich aus? Reicht ein Perspektivwechsel dafür aus? Das Projekt mündete in einer Aufführung für die Schulgemeinde, die durch das Schulgebäude reiste und die unterschiedlichsten Welten entdecken konnte.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Dass der künstlerische Prozess oft mit Fragen beginnt und diese nicht unbedingt im Laufe des Prozesses weniger werden. Einige Fragen werden vielleicht eine Antwort finden, und andere haben genau die Stärke und Kraft, dass man sie nie beantworten darf.