Language:

Home » Fellows » Anna Till

Anna Till

© Volker Metzler

Anna Till (*1983) lives in Dresden, where she works as a freelance choreographer and dancer. She studied “Dancing, Context, Choreography” at the Inter-University Centre for Dance Berlin (HZT) and “Applied Civilisation Studies” at Leuphana University of Lüneburg.
Under the label “situation productions”, she develops stage plays in various collaborative projects with artists from different genres. Her projects are supported by numerous partner organisations and presented at home and abroad.

Anna heads mediation formats for children and youths as well as seminars and workshops at a number of universities. Recently, she was an artistic assistant at HZT Berlin. She is a member of the coordination team of “TanzNetzDresden e. V.” – the platform for artists in the performing arts in Dresden – and a founding member of the “Villa Wigman für TANZ e. V.”.

 

www.annatill.de

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

I work mainly in collaboration with other artists, for example to focus on intercultural exchange (with Katia Manjate, a choreographer in Maputo/Mozambique) or on the relationship between different art disciplines (with Barbara Lubich, a film producer and sociologist). This approach also determines the contents and the aesthetics of each production, which is preceded by a longer phase of research enabling an introduction to the respective theme. Topics include “life in numbers” (2019): How can two different realities of life be presented? “Experiencing time” (2021): How do we handle time, and how does time handle us?

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

For me, it is important to gain a self-determined and open relationship with my own body and those of others through dancing and performative activities. I seek to sensitise people towards how diverse movement art is and how strongly one’s own physical presence can impact on the space one is in and on fellow individuals or an audience. This does not require a specially trained body performing exquisite movements. Rather, training consists of consciously discovering one’s own abilities and of being aware of growing together. In dancing, people encounter each other. Translating such encounter(s) into choreography, discovering the potential of one’s own body as an artistic medium, is what I seek to effect.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

As an artist, I bring along my own topics and my own way of working. I integrate the participants in my artistic process. The participants themselves are experts and artists with whom I enter into dialogue. (Critical) exchange on the respective exercises, training precise mutual observation and the formulation of what one has seen play an important role.

I see each workshop unit as a dancing performance requiring a dramaturgy of its own, providing meaningful guidance from one exercise to the next and, in this context, always allowing sufficient scope for spontaneity in order to focus on ideas put forward by the participants.

 

 TOGETHER – a dancing project for young dreamers, 2017

© Martin Mulik

Together with 15 children (8 to 12 years old), stage director Romy Weyrauch and I developed a dancing performance dealing with the topic of “Group and Individual”. TOGETHER aimed to enable young people to acquire a self-conscious treatment of themselves and their bodies through dancing. Being together in a group as opposed to “being alone” was addressed. What can I only do together with other people, and where do I prefer to be on my own? Which processes are difficult when many people are involved, and why is this the case? How do I find and determine my place in a community?

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

One of the elements of the TOGETHER projects was our working with an excessively large piece of cloth which was moved by all participants, both in a short, self-created solo and in a common sequence of movements. The poetics of these simple movements, the new images and associations which emerged again and again through the motion of the cloth, fascinated me. Often, one does not need many elements to have something new develop in a space and trigger imagination. Working with minimal transformations of movement and material is reflected in my own artistic work.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Anna Till

Anna Till

© Volker Metzler

Anna Till (*1983) lebt und arbeitet als freischaffende Choreografin und Tänzerin in Dresden. Sie studierte „Tanz, Kontext, Choreographie“ am Hochschulübergreifenden Zentrum für Tanz Berlin (HZT) und „Angewandte Kulturwissenschaften“ an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg.
Unter dem Label „situation productions“ entwickelt sie Bühnenstücke in wechselnden Kooperationen mit Künstler:innen unterschiedlicher Genres. Ihre Projekte werden von zahlreichen Partnerinstitutionen unterstützt und im In- und Ausland präsentiert.
Till leitet Vermittlungsformate für Kinder und Jugendliche sowie Seminare und Workshops an mehreren Hochschulen. Zuletzt war sie Künstlerische Mitarbeiterin am HZT Berlin. Sie ist Teil des Koordinationsteams von TanzNetzDresden e. V. – der Plattform für Künstler:innen in den Performing Arts in Dresden – und Gründungsmitglied des Villa Wigman für TANZ e. V.

www.annatill.de

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Ich arbeite überwiegend in Kollaboration mit anderen Künstler:innen, um z. B. den interkulturellen Austausch (mit Katia Manjate, Choreografin in Maputo/Mosambik) oder das Verhältnis zwischen verschiedenen künstlerischen Disziplinen (mit Barbara Lubich, Filmemacherin und Soziologin) zu thematisieren. Diese Arbeitsweise bestimmt auch den Inhalt und die Ästhetik jeder Produktion, der eine längere Recherche-Phase vorausgeht, um in das jeweilige Thema einzusteigen. Themen sind u. a. „life in numbers“ (2019): Wie lassen sich zwei unterschiedliche Lebensrealitäten darstellen? „Experiencing time“ (2021): Wie gehen wir mit Zeit und wie geht Zeit mit uns um?

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer Kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Mir ist es wichtig, durch die tänzerische und performative Arbeit ein selbstbestimmtes und offenes Verhältnis zum eigenen Körper und den Körpern anderer zu fördern. Ich möchte dafür sensibilisieren, wie vielfältig Bewegungskunst ist und wie stark die eigene Präsenz in den Raum und auf Mitmenschen bzw. ein Publikum wirken kann. Dafür braucht man keinen besonders trainierten Körper, der ausgefallene Bewegungen macht. Das Training besteht vielmehr in dem bewussten Entdecken der eigenen Fähigkeiten und im wachsamen Miteinander. Im Tanz begegnet man einander. Diese Begegnung(en) in Choreografie zu übersetzen, das Potenzial des eigenen Körpers als künstlerisches Mittel zu erkennen, das möchte ich bewirken.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Als Künstlerin bringe ich meine jeweiligen Themen und meine eigene Arbeitsweise mit. Ich integriere die Teilnehmer:innen in meinen künstlerischen Prozess. Die Teilnehmer:innen selbst sind Expert:innen und Künstler:innen, mit denen ich in einen Dialog trete. Der (kritische) Austausch zu den jeweiligen Übungen, das Trainieren von genauem gegenseitigen Beobachten und Formulieren des Gesehenen spielt eine große Rolle.

Jede Workshop-Einheit verstehe ich im Sinne einer Tanzperformance, die ihre eigene Dramaturgie braucht, sinnvoll von einer Übung zur nächsten leitet und dabei immer ausreichend Raum für Spontaneität lässt, um auf Anregungen der Teilnehmer:innen einzugehen.

TOGETHER – ein Tanzprojekt für junge Träumer:innen, 2017

© Martin Mulik

Die Theatermacherin Romy Weyrauch und ich erarbeiteten gemeinsam mit 15 Kindern (8 bis 12 Jahre) eine Tanzperformance, die sich mit dem Thema „Gruppe und Individuum“ beschäftigte. TOGETHER hatte das Anliegen, jungen Menschen mittels Tanz einen selbstbewussten Umgang mit sich und ihrem Körper zu ermöglichen. Behandelt wurde das Miteinander in einer Gruppe im Unterschied zum „Alleine-Sein“. Was kann ich nur mit anderen zusammen machen und wobei bin ich lieber allein? Welche Prozesse sind schwierig mit vielen und wieso? Wie finde und bestimme ich meinen Platz in einer Gemeinschaft?

Was haben Sie in diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

In dem Projekt TOGETHER haben wir u. a. mit einem übergroßen Stoff gearbeitet, der von allen Teilnehmer:innen zum einen in einem kurzen, selbst kreierten Solo und zum anderen in einer gemeinsamen Bewegungsabfolge bewegt wurde. Die Poesie in diesen einfachen Bewegungen, die immer wieder neuen Bilder und Assoziationen, die durch das Bewegen des Materials entstanden sind, haben mich fasziniert. Oft braucht man nicht viele Elemente, um etwas Neues im Raum entstehen zu lassen und Imaginationen zu wecken. Die Arbeit an minimalen Transformationen von Bewegung und Material findet sich in meiner eigenen künstlerischen Arbeit wieder.