Language:

Home » Fellows » Sabine Funk

Sabine Funk

© Roland Baege

Sabine Funk is a trained scene painter and scene sculptor, an artist and an art scholar. She works as an academic assistant at the University of Fine Arts Münster, and previously, at TU University’s Institute of Art and Material Culture, she developed the “Digital & Expanded Painting” field of activity. Her focal interests are contemporary and media-based art, especially digital painting, and digital transformation in the education and cultural sector. She is a founding member of the academic and art think-tank “Frappanz – Kollektiv kultureller Freiheiten e. V.”.

www.frappanz.com

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

In my artistic work, I am particularly interested in the options for the perception of different realities and the interaction between digital and analogue elements. Here, I look for conflations, but above all also for boundaries and irritations which question everyday visual habits and can lead to new localisations.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

I want to encourage people to try out shifting their perspective, to liberate themselves from conventional notions and structures and let go of their own perception habits. Personal as well as social spaces to develop can be opened up and newly defined by experimenting, asking questions, discussing and researching. Cultural education activities can encourage people to actively get involved in and commonly design their personal environment and our society as a whole.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

In cultural education, an artistic intervention is an opportunity to gain new experience and insights. Impulses and a range of options for interaction can encourage the participants to adopt new perspectives and get new ideas. Interaction can be performed face-to-face or digitally, although it ought to be based on an unfamiliar stimulus demanding rethinking things.

 

Frappanz – Kollektiv kultureller Freiheiten e. V. – Workshop Digital Painting, 2020

© Sabine Funk

In the summer of 2020, together with actors from the fields of art, culture and science, I founded the charitable association “Frappanz – Kollektiv kultureller Freiheiten e. V.”. With this initiative, a direct link to the urban area is to be created, as well as an open platform on which we can address social topics, make artistic practice tangible and actively participate in the development of the city and society together with other artists. Our project „#outofthebox“ comprised various different workshops on the topics of “Radical Empathy“, “Upcycling”, “Design” and “Digital Painting”. For us, the “Frappanz” is a rehearsal, activity and resonance room all in one.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

Owing to the pandemic, my workshop “Digital Painting” in the project referred to above was run as a purely digital event. Nevertheless, it was important for me to print the results and present them in a pop-up exhibition in the real-life “Frappanz” room. Since not everyone taking an interest was able to visit the real-life room, this activity was chiefly documented via the Social Media channels. Individuals and works of art switch between realities in real-life and digitised form. It is particularly this interaction between the analogue and the digital world which I take an interest in as part of my work as an artist.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Sabine Funk

Sabine Funk

© Roland Baege

Sabine Funk ist ausgebildete Bühnenmalerin und Bühnenplastikerin, Künstlerin und Kunstwissenschaftlerin. Sie arbeitet als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Kunstakademie Münster, zuvor entwickelte sie am Institut für Kunst und Materielle Kultur der Technischen Universität Dortmund den künstlerischen Arbeitsbereich „Digital & Expanded Painting“. Ihre Interessenschwerpunkte liegen in zeitgenössischer und medienbasierter Kunst, inbesondere in der digitalen Malerei, sowie in der digitalen Transformation im Bildungs- und Kultursektor. Sie ist Gründungsmitglied des wissenschaftlich-künstlerischen Thinktanks Frappanz – Kollektiv kultureller Freiheiten e. V.

www.frappanz.com

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

In meiner künstlerischen Arbeit interessieren mich insbesondere die Möglichkeiten von Wahrnehmung unterschiedlicher Realitäten und das Zusammenspiel von digitalen und analogen Elementen. Hier suche ich nach Verschmelzungen, vor allem aber auch nach Grenzen und Irritationen, die die alltäglichen Sehgewohnheiten hinterfragen und zu neuen Verortungen führen können.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Ich möchte dazu anregen, Perspektivwechsel auszuprobieren, sich von konventionellen Vorstellungen und Strukturen zu befreien und die eigenen Wahrnehmungsgewohnheiten loszulassen. Persönliche und auch gesellschaftliche Entwicklungsräume können durch Experimentieren, Fragen stellen, Diskutieren und Forschen eröffnet und neu definiert werden. Kulturelle Bildungsarbeit kann dazu ermutigen, die persönliche Umgebung sowie unsere Gesellschaft gemeinsam aktiv mitzugestalten.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus

Eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung bietet die Möglichkeit, neue Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen. Durch Impulse und das Angebot von Interaktionen können die Teilnehmenden zu neuen Perspektiven und Ideen angeregt werden. Die Interaktion kann zwischenmenschlich oder digital ausgeführt werden, ihr sollte jedoch ein ungewohnter Anreiz zugrunde liegen, der dazu auffordert, Dinge neu zu denken.

Frappanz – Kollektiv kultureller Freiheiten e. V. – Workshop Digital Painting, 2020

© Sabine Funk

Im Sommer 2020 gründete ich mit Akteur:innen aus Kunst, Kultur und Wissenschaft den gemeinnützigen Verein Frappanz – Kollektiv kultureller Freiheiten e. V. Mit dieser Initiative soll eine direkte Verbindung in den Stadtraum und eine offene Plattform geschaffen werden, auf der wir gemeinsam mit anderen Aktivist:innen gesellschaftliche Themen verhandeln, künstlerische Praxis erfahrbar machen und Stadt und Gesellschaft aktiv mitgestalten können. Unser Projekt #outofthebox umfasste verschiedene Workshops zu den Themen „Radikale Empathie“, „Upcycling“, „Design“ und „Digital Painting“. Das Frappanz ist für uns Probe-, Aktions- und Resonanzraum in einem.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Mein Workshop „Digital Painting“ im oben genannten Projekt fand aufgrund der Pandemie rein digital statt. Dennoch war es mir wichtig, die Ergebnisse auszudrucken und in einer Pop-up-Walking-by-Ausstellung im realen Frappanz-Raum auszustellen. Da es nicht allen Interessierten möglich war, den realen Raum aufzusuchen, wurde die Aktion hauptsächlich digital über die Social-Media-Kanäle dokumentiert. Menschen und künstlerische Werke „switchten“ in echter und digitalisierter Form zwischen den Realitäten. Gerade dieses Wechselspiel zwischen analoger und digitaler Welt interessiert mich in meiner künstlerischen Arbeit.