Language:

Home » Fellows » Anke Eberwein

Anke Eberwein

© Jarik Eberwein

Anke Eberwein studied cultural education at the University of Hildesheim in the 1990s and then worked as a music pedagogue and concert manager. After the publication of her diploma thesis on the topic of “Concert Pedagogics”, she became co-founder of the “Kölner Büro für Konzertpädagogik” (Cologne concert pedagogics agency) in 1997, which she then headed for several years. Having been trained as a music geragogue in 2020, she now works as a freelancer throughout the county of Kassel, commissioned by senior citizens’ institutions, clinics and local authorities. She provides musical accompaniment for old people in individual settings (musical house calls, instrumental instruction), in groups (singing  and music tours, sing- and play-along concerts, senior citizens’ bands, intergenerative projects) and heads further and continuing education programmes. Her work’s motto is: “Faltenklang – alte Menschen können sich in und über Musik „ent-falten“” (the sound of wrinkles – old people can de-wrinkle/develop in and with music).

www.konzertpädagogik.de
www.faltenklang.de

Which topic turns up again and again in your artistic activities?

Playing music, listening to music, moving along with music: at a cognitive, motor, emotional and affective level. How can reality be experienced aesthetically, holistically and multi-dimensionally with the aid of music? Is (inter-) actively, intuitively making music together by improvising the key to all this? How can I process an artistic field so that creative forces can grow and act in it? I am seeking the interpenetration of art and everyday life, the aesthetic perspective on everyday aspects, a familiar, everyday view of music – beyond virtuosity and exclusivity. All individuals are musical, are touched by music in their own way, everywhere, and a whole life long.

What do you seek to achieve with your cultural education activities?

Especially in the rural regions, which are usually underserved with culture, and where age-appropriate cultural events are usually lacking, I seek to stimulate and activate people in their third and fourth stages of life with aesthetic, experience- and perception-enhancing music projects.  Via the encounter with themselves and music (instrument, voice, dancing), identity, finding one’s self, developing one’s abilities, self-efficacy, acquiring insights and self-realisation (“finding one’s own tone”), learning and further development become possible. Old people’s quality of life can be maintained and improved with musical means.

What, in your view, is the essence of an artistic intervention in cultural education?

I try to create an aesthetic space in a familiar, calming and stimulating atmosphere in which art can emerge and develop. In this space, I accompany people in recalling moments in life, familiar aspects – a song, a piece of music, an instrument – or also sensations such as happiness, grief, love. Familiar aspects are put into a new context during a dialogical process out of which new forms emerge. For example, the protest song “Bella ciao” is newly texted together and placed in a personal context or rewritten instrumentally as a mourning blues. Here, the actors experience new experiential environments and self-efficacy – in the music, they perceive their own creative strength.

The sound of wrinkles

© Hans-Joachim Herbold

When people can’t get to art, art gets to them. In this “cultural work via dropping in on people”, I visit institutions, clinics, quarters and private living rooms, and through making music together, I take up the great longing for inter-human resonance. For this purpose, I travel around the county equipped with flute, voice, guitar and accordion, many simple instruments for joining in and amplifying gadgets and make music in front of windows, in living rooms, on stairs and in gardens. In the context of sing- and play-along concerts, I enable older and old people to participate in culture and in designing activities. We enter a musical dialogue. Here, music is experienced in an entirely new way: intuitively, interactively and improvisationally.

What have you taken home from this project for your artistic activities?

Owing to different aspects shaping their lives, experiences in life, needs, abilities and cultural tastes, my target groups are highly heterogeneous. The music I “bring along” to old people and the artistic language change again and again, given such a backdrop of diversity. We learn from and with each other. Here, the challenge for me as an artist is to offer people in the process of aging, with growing impediments and insecurities, musical options in which they can develop and maintain a positive feeling of being alive. So what is needed is aesthetic-creative, humane and people-friendly approaches to handling aging. Ultimately, such approaches will also contribute to shaping our common cultural and social future.

Sprache:

Home » Stipendiat:innen » Anke Eberwein

Anke Eberwein

© Jarik Eberwein

Anke Eberwein studierte in den 1990er-Jahren Kulturpädagogik an der Universität Hildesheim, danach war sie als Musikpädagogin und Konzertmanagerin tätig. Nach der Veröffentlichung ihrer Diplomarbeit zum Thema „Konzertpädagogik“ war sie im Jahr 1997 Mitgründerin des Kölner Büros für Konzertpädagogik, das sie viele Jahre leitete. Seit der Ausbildung zur Musikgeragogin im Jahr 2020 ist sie im Auftrag von Alteneinrichtungen, Kliniken und Gemeinden freiberuflich im Landkreis Kassel unterwegs. Sie begleitet alte Menschen musikalisch in Einzelsettings (musikalische Hausbesuche, Instrumentalunterricht), in Gruppen (Sing- und Musikkreisen, Mitmachkonzerte, Seniorenbands, intergenerative Projekte) und leitet Fort- und Weiterbildungen. Das Motto ihrer Arbeit: Faltenklang – alte Menschen können sich in und über Musik „ent-falten“.

www.konzertpädagogik.de
www.faltenklang.de

Welches Thema taucht in Ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit immer wieder auf?

Musizieren, Musik hören, Bewegen zu Musik – Musik wirkt ganzheitlich und mehrdimensional: kognitiv, motorisch, emotional, affektiv. Wie lässt sich Wirklichkeit mithilfe musikalischer Mittel ästhetisch, ganzheitlich und mehrdimensional erleben? Ist (inter)aktives, improvisiertes, intuitives miteinander Musizieren der Schlüssel? Wie kann ich ein künstlerisches „Feld“ so bereiten, dass schöpferische Kräfte darin wachsen und agieren können? Ich suche die Durchmischung von Kunst und Alltag, den ästhetischen Blick auf Alltägliches, und den alltäglich-vertrauten Blick auf Musik – jenseits von Virtuosität und Exklusivität. Jeder Mensch ist auf seine Weise musikalisch, wird auf seine Weise von Musik berührt, überall und lebenslang.

Was möchten Sie mit Ihrer kulturellen Bildungsarbeit bewirken?

Besonders im ländlichen Raum, der kulturell meist stark unterversorgt ist und wo altersgerechte Kulturangebote fehlen, möchte ich Menschen im dritten und vierten Lebensalter mit ästhetischen, erlebnis- und wahrnehmungserweiternden Musikprojekten anregen und aktivieren. Über die Begegnung mit sich und Musik (Instrument, Stimme, Tanz) wird Identität, Selbstfindung, Entfaltung, Selbstwirksamkeit, Erkenntnis und Eigenverwirklichung („den eigenen Ton finden“), Lernen und Weiterentwicklung möglich. Mit musikalischen Mitteln kann die Lebensqualität alter Menschen erhalten und verbessert werden.

Was macht für Sie eine künstlerische Intervention in der Kulturellen Bildung aus?

Ich versuche, einen ästhetischen Raum in vertrauter, beruhigender und anregender Atmosphäre zu schaffen, in der Kunst entstehen und sich entfalten kann. In diesem Raum begleite ich Menschen beim Erinnern an Lebensmomente, an Bekanntes – ein Lied, Musikstück, Instrument – oder auch an Emotionen wie Glück, Trauer, Liebe. Bekanntes wird während eines dialogischen Prozesses in einen neuen Kontext gesetzt, woraus sich neue Formen entwickeln. Beispiel: Das Protestlied „Bella ciao“ wird gemeinsam umgetextet und in einen persönlichen Zusammenhang gestellt oder instrumental zu einem Trauerblues umgeschrieben. Die Agierenden erleben dabei neue Erfahrungsräume und Selbstwirksamkeit – sie spüren in der Musik ihre eigene schöpferische Kraft.

Faltenklang

© Hans-Joachim Herbold

Wenn die Menschen nicht zur Kunst kommen können, dann kommt die Kunst zu den Menschen. In dieser „aufsuchenden Kulturarbeit“ besuche ich Einrichtungen, Kliniken, Quartiere und private Wohnzimmer und komme über das gemeinsame Musizieren der großen Sehnsucht nach zwischenmenschlicher Resonanz entgegen. Dafür reise ich mit Flöte, Stimme, Gitarre und Akkordeon, zahlreichen einfachen Mitmachinstrumenten und Verstärkungstechnik durch den Landkreis und musiziere vor Fenstern, in Wohnzimmern, Treppenhäusern und Gärten. Im Rahmen von Mitmachkonzerten ermögliche ich älteren und alten Menschen kulturelle Teilhabe und Mitgestaltung. Wir treten in einen musikalischen Dialog. Musik wird dabei ganz neu erlebt: intuitiv, interaktiv, improvisatorisch.

Was haben Sie aus diesem Projekt für Ihre künstlerische Arbeit mitgenommen?

Meine Zielgruppe ist aufgrund von unterschiedlichen Prägungen, Lebenserfahrungen, Bedürfnissen, Fähigkeiten und kulturellen Geschmäckern höchst heterogen. Die Musik, die ich alten Menschen „bringe“, und die künstlerische Sprache verändern sich vor dem Hintergrund dieser Vielfalt daher ständig. Wir lernen von- und miteinander. Die künstlerische Herausforderung dabei ist für mich, Menschen im Prozess der Alterung, mit zunehmenden Einschränkungen und Unsicherheiten, musikalische Möglichkeiten zu bieten, in denen sie ein positives Lebensgefühl entwickeln und erhalten können. Es bedarf also ästhetisch-kreativer, humaner und menschenfreundlicher Wege des Umgangs mit Alter. Letztlich werden diese auch unsere gemeinsame kulturelle und soziale Zukunft bestimmen.